PSM192 and TH-50PHW6 advice needed

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by mule91, Feb 20, 2005.

  1. mule91

    mule91
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I have a DVD32FLR and a Panasonic TH-50PHW6. I’m considering having a PSM192 but I am worried about the DVI issues with the Panny. Can anyone tell me if the interlaced single is carried through the component BNC’s as well as the DVI? I’m already using a component card in the Panasonic.
    Many thanks.
     
  2. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    I think you mean "de-interlaced"? If so the "de-interlaced" signal is present on the BNC output of the DVD as well as the DVI connector, the RCA output remains "interlaced". Personally I'd connect up using the BNC's to the Panny, it was well documented that there was a whole world of grief using the Panny's DVI input (not just with the PSM!).
     
  3. mule91

    mule91
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Graham.
    Sorry, I did mean de-interlaced.
    Basically what I really want to know is:-
    what are the disadvantages, if any, of using the BNC component compared to DVI?
    Will I loose any functionality?
    Thanks again.
     
  4. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Functionality, Nope.....
    Disadvantages, well, three off component cables might be dearer...... :devil:
    The rest depends on how well the DVI or component inputs on the display are implimented.... e.g. one mght be delibrately made inferior to the other..... ;)
     
  5. lovegroova

    lovegroova
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +387
    I use a PSM with a 42" Panny 6-series and have it connected using the BNC (to RCA) component. I did buy a DVI board from these forums, but the Panny won't accept a PAL 50Hz signal via DVI and is therefore no good for watching british TV or R2 DVDs.

    Also, with the DVI board inserted in socket 1, the component board in socket 2 stopped working.

    Finally, use the money you have saved by not buying a DVI board, and get someone to calibrate the screen properly for you. It'll make a much more significant difference to the picture quality than the type of connection you use.
    My advice is to use the component connections, they really are very good indeed.
     
  6. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Component it is then......... Digital world eh, you cares when you get a better picture eh.......
     
  7. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe it's just me but I have feeling I have better picture over component, whatever the reason!
     
  8. mule91

    mule91
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers all.
    I've already got a good BNC componant lead (Belden 7710A) so I'll proceed with that.
    Thanks again.
     
  9. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    With a Panny 6 series?? Not watching many R2 DVD's then?
     
  10. mule91

    mule91
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Suely you can't take sky or any other PAL 50hz signal throughthe DVI either?
     
  11. lovegroova

    lovegroova
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +387
    Graham, what do you mean by this? Me no comprendo!

    Is it something to do with panel resolution? Or do you think that Plump meant that he thought DVI was better than component? :confused:
     
  12. OnTheFly

    OnTheFly
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Ratings:
    +119
    I am under the impression that the BNC's offer PS, whereas the DVI offers PS and the scaler. The DVI would be wasted considering the Panasonic plasma issues.

    Of course, members more 'in the know' may correct my beliefs! :suicide:
     
  13. mule91

    mule91
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    We seem to have a conflict of opinions here. Does the PSM192 carry scaling through via BNC componant?
     
  14. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Wooooha.........

    The PSM doesn't do any scaling at all ever...... It just does de-interlacing and the SAME signal (720x576p or 720x480p) is available via either the DVI connector or the BNC's, the standard interlaced output (720x576i or 720x480i) is still available via the RCA's and the s-video and composite outputs.

    The Panny 6 series DVI input didn't accept a 50Hz PAL signal, so if you play a R2 DVD in the DVD32R/PSM it don't work properly. The DVD32R does not convert between NTSC and PAL sources. It does allow either RGB or Component video output from the PSM ports though.

    DVI is frankly not better than the BNC output on the DVD32R/PSM... It is all down to the display and what it makes the best job of.

    If you need scaling then its either the VSM module for the AV192R or similar off board scalers from Lumagen etc. Of course using the displays internal scaling is the other option which may or may not be bypassed if you use the display's DVI input.
     
  15. mule91

    mule91
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for putting me straight on this Graham. :thumbsup:
     
  16. OnTheFly

    OnTheFly
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Ratings:
    +119
    Thanks GrahamMG
     
  17. PhilCTTE

    PhilCTTE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,690
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    W.Mids
    Ratings:
    +133
    Maybe one of the old Tag helpdesk personnel could help hear Roversd1 ? The issue was with the PAL signal and the number of lines 572...574 If I recall the Panasonic DVI board couldn't interpret correctly. Panasonic said tough luck :eek: ! So Tag as wonderful as they were updated the software to configure the number of lines output from the DVI. By this time tho I'd swapped the Panasonic for a Pioneer. So i'm not sure if this fix ever was released
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice