1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSM setup problem. please help

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by johnson, Jun 4, 2005.

  1. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi, I wonder if anyone can help?

    I have just setup my PSM within the av192.(coming from a DVD32r)

    On region 2 disks(PAL) everything is fine.

    On region 1 disks(NTSC) the picture is Green and in a small rectangle (about half screen size) inthe middle of the screen.

    I assume I'm doing something very basic wrong?!?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    By the way my screen is a Pioneer 433mxe.

    Best Regards
    Simon
     
  2. Joelc

    Joelc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    A few things to check...

    1. Did you change both the DVD32R and the AV192R to NTSC from PAL?

    2. Did you adjust/change your display to receive NTSC?

    3. Did you adjust/change the DSVD32R to play region 1?

    4. Are the component outputs the one selected on the DVD32R?

    Other than the above I would have to look at the PSM menu options which -- at present -- is not possible.

    Joel
     
  3. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for replying Joel.Much appreciated.

    1.I didn't realise I had to change them over.I have had the dvd for 2 years and have never changed any options when using region 1 or 2 disks.
    Is this something specific to the psm/av192?

    2.Again, I have played many region 1 and 2 disks with my display without ever changing any options.The difference being they were with an interlaced input.

    3.My Dvd32r is set to multi-region

    4.Yes the component outputs are selected on the Dvd32r.It plays perfect with Pal region2 disks.

    Thanks for your comments and any future help.

    Best regards
    Simon
     
  4. Mike192

    Mike192
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I suspect this may be a display set up problem. I used to have a 503MXE and remember that for each input it had a separate settings memory for each signal type such as PAL and NTSC. The green picture sounds like the display is set to RGB and you are feeding it with component (or maybe vice versa). The small picture sounds like the display is set to 'pixel-to-pixel' mode rather than anamorphic (or 'wide' or whatever they call it). I suggest you go through the display menus and check these settings.
     
  5. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi Mike.Thanks for the reply.
    I have just looked through all the options on the av192/psm and the plasma.
    I cannot find anything wrong.

    What I cant understand is, for the last two years, my dvd32r has been providing NTSC to the 433mxe without any problems.
    Now it's going through the psm, the display is not correct.

    The only difference I can see, is the progressive.

    As I say the plasma has always accepted the NTSC signal on interlaced.

    Once again, Thankyou for all your help
    Regards
    simon
     
  6. Mike192

    Mike192
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Simon,

    I think that as far as the display is concerned a progressive NTSC signal is different from an interlaced one as it has a different horizontal scan frequency. This means that it uses a different memory location to store the key settings for each of these signal types. So, progressive vs. interlaced is a big difference.

    Have you tried changing the RGB/component and the aspect ratio settings in the display menu while actually displaying a progressive NTSC signal? Once you have done this it will store these settings in memory an automaticaly recall them whenever it sees this type of signal on that particular input.

    Assuming that you do not have a VSM in your AV192R I can't see how anything in the DVD32R or AV192R could be responsible for the small image in the middle of the screen. This can only be due to the display not scaling the image appropriately. It appears that the display is taking the 720x480 pixel image from the PSM and displaying it without any scaling. This is exactly what the MXE does in 'pixel to pixel' mode.

    Good luck.
     
  7. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Mike, Thankyou for taking the time to reply.

    I'll try changing the settings on the plasma when I get home from work tonight.

    My dvd has always output component, but it mike help to switch it.

    I'm glad to hear it shouldn't be a problem with my Tag gear.

    I guess I just assumed that if I had any problems, it would be with PAL progressive as it (and equipment compatability) is comparatively new.

    Best regards and thanks again,
    Simon
     
  8. Mike192

    Mike192
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Simon,

    I've just dug out my old pdf copy of the 503MXE technical manual and have found something that may help. There is a note to the effect that the automatic signal identification function does not operate on a 31.5kHz horizontal/60Hz vertical signal which are the scan frequencies for NTSC progressive. They are also the scan frequencies for a 640x480 60Hz PC RGB signal and the display defaults to this resulting in a greenish 640x480 pixel image in the middle of the screen.

    You need to manually configure the signal type by going into the user menu, selecting the SET UP tab and setting the SETTING option to 'Video'. I seem to remember now that I had exactly this problem the first time I tried to play back an NTSC disk on my 503. Also ensure that the VIDEO SIGNAL option (just below the SETTING option) is set to COMPONENT. You may also need to play around with the picture size which I think is done using a button on the remote control. Once you have done this once it should remember the settings and recall them automatically whenever you play a NTSC disk.

    I hope this helps.
     
  9. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Mike,

    YOU ARE THE MAN!!

    It works! Just got home from work, tried what you said and I am now very happy.

    Thankyou so much.

    This forum and the people here never fail to impress!

    Best regards
    Simon
     
  10. Mike192

    Mike192
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Great news Simon!
     
  11. dvdviewer

    dvdviewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Inspired by the success of the request for help, I have one of my own.

    I too have a DVD32r with PSM. I also have an av32rdp and a Panasonic 42" plasma.

    On certain dvds the screen image is a small rectangle. These are all region 2. Most region 2 dvds are fine. I have no problem with the couple of R1 dvds which I have.

    Any suggestions would be gratefully received.
     
  12. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    I think the R1/R2 thing may be a distraction.

    I think its likely that the disks giving a small picture are non anamorphic widescreen, they are using a windscreen shape section in the middle of 4:3. Try the different screen scretch settings on your plasma.
     
  13. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    He doesn't say how he is feeding the Panny, are you using component or DVI? There is a wealth of issues with Panasonic screens of a certain vintage, none of them TAG's fault...... Panasonic finally fixed it by releasing a new plasma range....not ideal..... As Liam suggests a fiddle with the format settings might help and I hope that the 50Hz/60Hz Panasonic thing isn't at the bottom of it......
     

Share This Page

Loading...