PS4 Sky Q wireless performance issue

Discussion in 'General Tech & Gadget Forums' started by jono1956, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. jono1956

    jono1956
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I wonder if anyone can help please.

    We recently had Sky come round and install the new Sky Q box. With this, they also changed the modem/hub to a newer version. We had, and still have, multiroom (1 additional box). This too was upgraded to Sky Q.

    I’ve since had to have numerous calls with Sky as the internet speed is no longer stable. My previous wireless speed to the PS4 was as high as 31mbps. However when I run tests now, the speed will constantly change - one minute 15mbps, the next 5kbps and then up to 20kbps.

    We’ve also noticed that the wireless connection issues are affecting our home devices too. I’ve had to switch off the WiFi on my phone and use data instead just because it’s so slow and often unreliable.

    With the speed dropping, performance issues are clear. Noticeable lag whilst playing online games make it impossible to enjoy and an online Tesco shop takes more than double the time it used to.

    The hub is in the same location as before so our home setup hasn’t changed. And prior the installation of the Sky Q boxes, we never had wireless performance issues.

    As Sky have been unable to come up with an answer, we’re considering changing provider. But we’re not sure if this will definitely solve the issue. Has anyone else had this issue since installing Sky Q and if so, were you able to find a solution?

    Any suggestions would be warmly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    It's most likely just a faulty router. Either the modem part interacting with your internet connection or the wi-fi part providing your home network.

    You can determine which by plugging in a device using an ethernet cable and seeing if that exhibits the same symptoms.

    If a device connected with a wire works fine you can safely replace the router, turn of it's wi-fi and add a seperate access point, or badger sky to replace it.

    If the same thing happens to the wired connection then you need to check without the sky hardware connected at all. Do you have any previous free routers from ISPs you've been with in the past?


    If you didn't sign up to a new internet service then it's unlikely to be anything that switching ISPs will solve, beyond the new router they throw in as part of the bundle.
     
  3. reddevil74

    reddevil74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +275
    I always felt my WiFi was never as good after installing sky q
    Someone more knowledgeable might be able to confirm but I believe the sky q hub is running 2 seperate frequency’s (2.4ghz and 5ghz)
    I think the 5ghz is faster but has less of a range
    I renamed both in the router so that my devices connect to the 2.4 frequency and leave the 5ghz for the sky q only. Might be worth a try for you

    To connect to router 192.168.0.1
    Admin
    Sky

    Hope that makes sense
     
  4. jono1956

    jono1956
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, Thank You so much for taking the time to reply. Your help is greatly appreciated. Danny
     
  5. kingcr33ch

    kingcr33ch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +83
    After getting the new sky q router I quickly realised the wifi signal strength is shocking and doesn't reach as far as their older routers.... I've read they limit their signal so you can not easily share with neighbours.

    I'd recommend getting some homeplugs (powerline adapters) and then hard wiring your devices. Way better than WIFI and can pick them up cheap. Been using homeplugs for years
     
  6. jono1956

    jono1956
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, appreciate your help.
     
  7. kingcr33ch

    kingcr33ch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +83
    I tried my sky q router in different positions to see if it helped. In the end I let my contract get to the end and moved to Vodafone, cheaper and router has a better signal strength.

    Google sky q router wifi strength, you'll see a lot of posts.
     
  8. jono1956

    jono1956
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for your input
     
  9. Mohsin

    Mohsin
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi, I believe PS4 offers only 2.4ghz is that why the Wi-Fi is working with the ps4 because the hub sending out a frequency of 5ghz?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice