Question PS4 Audio Connection Advice - HDMI to Optical/TOSLINK

Avalien

Standard Member
PS4 Audio Connection Advice - HDMI to Optical/TOSLINK

Hi all,

I've been reading these forums for years & have always found solid advice for many of my tech issues, but today I ask for assistance directly.

I'm a bit of an amateur tech-head, having fixed most of my appliances (TV, PS3 & PS4, PC etc) without issue, in the past. I'm also somewhat of an audiophile & have recently been dissatisfied with the audio output from my home theatre setup; here is where I need help.

My setup is as follows:

PS4 (Original Std. Model) <via HDMI> Samsung TV (LE40M87BDX/XEU)

Samsung TV <via Optical/TOSLINK> Samsung Home Cinema System (HT-C450N)

I have been advised that this is the best physical setup for my system, as the Samsung receiver lacks any HDMI input options.

Where I have struggled to find correct & satisfying results is in the various audio options, across the systems, to provide optimal sound for gaming & watching Netflix/Blu-rays. Currently, my settings are as follows:

PS4 Output

Primary Output Port: HDMI Out
Audio Format (Priority): Linear PCM

PS4 Disc Audio Settings

Noise Reduction: Off
DRC: Off
Audio Format: Linear PCM

Samsung TV

Set to internal mute, as speakers are defective.

Samsung Receiver

Speaker Setup: Centre +3Db, Rear +2Db, Sub -5Db (to reflect my environment)
DRC: Off
AV-Sync: 0 msec
HDMI Audio: Off
EQ Optimizer: Off

Again, I have selected the above options, from what I've found online, but I still do not feel it sounds correct. Issues I experience include:

• Occasional poor audio quality from centre speaker, making dialogue & subtle sounds to quiet to hear adequately.
  • Certain sounds can sound bassy or muffled.
  • Wildly varying volume levels for different sources & titles, which can cause problems for neighbours, especially at night.
  • Sound dropouts of a second or so, when receiver is set to any Pro Logic II setting, other than Cinematic.