PS3/Xbox360 connection issues

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by reddevil63, May 2, 2007.

  1. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Have only recently bought a PS3 which sits along with my 360.

    Up to now the 360 had been the only thing connected to my router and have had no connection issues whatsoever.

    Since getting the PS3 all I do is take the ethernet plug out of the back of the 360 and plug it in to the back of the PS3 and vice versa, this is done while both consoles are powered off.

    Now have this problem!

    Can connect to the PS network ok, can get into the PS Store, can even use the web browser but have tried going online with Motorstorm, RFOM and F1 and always get message 'unable to connect to server, please check your network settings'!

    Confused now as the internet connection status within XMB shows everything ok and have a NAT type 2 which is supposed to be good.

    Am using the wired method of connection to my Linksys BEFSR41 ver.2 router.

    Any ideas guys?

    Cheers
     
  2. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    Could have been some issue the time you were connecting? If you can browse the web then it should work.
     
  3. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Well I tried last night and no joy and just fired it up again and still can't do online games.
     
  4. druidvideo

    druidvideo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    It definitely sounds like a NAT issue. Had the same thing with the 360. Try setting up DMZ if your router has that feature and set your PS3 to that address or range.
     
  5. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    But I have NAT 2 which according to Playstation website is good.
     
  6. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    If you can't connect to games then there's definately something wrong.

    Anything on your firewall logs?
     
  7. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Eureka!!!!

    Problem solved, resetted my router back to factory settings, restarted the computer, plug ethernet cable into 360 and went on Live, turned off 360, took cable out and stuck into PS3, started PS3 and put Motorstorm in and hit online and BOBS YOUR UNCLE. Its working!!!!

    Hate when something like this doesn't work, pull hair out time and then it always something simple that solves the problem which you don't think off at first. :D
     
  8. breadmaker6

    breadmaker6
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Land Of The Concrete Cows
    Ratings:
    +735

    1st rule of IT Management.....Switch it off

    2nd rule of IT Management....Switch it on again

    :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...