PS3 Won't Switch On

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by dmx0007, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. dmx0007

    dmx0007
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    I was using my PS3 last night was working fine and today i tried switching it on and it was not switching on.when i press the power button the green light comes on then goes yellow and back to red again :(

    i thought id try the "Recovery menu" but still no joy.i held down the power button for 10 seconds to reset it and that did not work either.can a corrupt HDD cause a problem like this? please help.

    Thanks in Advance
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2009
  2. cols

    cols
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +517
    Sounds like a dead ps3 mate, the yellow light of doom - call the careline - 08705 998877 :smashin:
     
  3. dmx0007

    dmx0007
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    don't say that mate :( i don't have warranty left on PS3 they gone charge ain't they?
     
  4. Zeromajor

    Zeromajor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Btown
    Ratings:
    +594
    Yeah in all honesty it sounds like it's dead and you'll need to ring that number. Quite a few people have found that even out of warantee sony will take care of it for you free of charge. Give them a call and see.

    :thumbsup:
     
  5. russd1978

    russd1978
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +122
    They may well replace it free, as Zeromajor says. However, if you want to play it really safe sign up for continuous play before you call.

    Personally Id follow Zeromajors advice :thumbsup:
     
  6. cols

    cols
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +517
    And if they try and quibble, mention the Sale of Goods Act - items costing a reasonable amount of money should last a reasonable amount of time, something like 5 years iirc. :smashin:
     
  7. Ash888

    Ash888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    i had exactly the same problem with my original ps3 which i got on launch day. it lasted about 3 months and i was hardly playing it as there werent many good games out at the beginning.

    i got mine from game so i called them up, and they replaced it for me with a brand new 1, luckily the 40gb hadnt been released at the time, so i got another 60gb.

    the guy didnt know what the problem was and wasnt too bothered about replacing it either. but i did loose all my game data.

    the ps3 is dead mate, unless they have found a solution since i had the problem.

    try and get it replaced where you got it from, as i said i took mine back after 3/4 months.

    sony will charge if its out of warrenty not sure how much.
     
  8. Spoonman2

    Spoonman2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,605
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +579
    Call them up, this sometimes happens after an update you know..:thumbsup: if you get lucky you may well get a new one even out of warranty as reported elsewhere on here.

    You can but try.. worked for a mate of mine who even removed the top to clean it out! DOH! :eek:

    Also, I belive the traffic light situation is due to the unit overheating.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  9. sunnybacon

    sunnybacon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +433
    Although mine hasn't given up on me, my mate's recently did, and his was out of warranty by quite a few months.
    He rang up Sony, told them the situation, and they got it changed for him. Barely any hassle :thumbsup:
     
  10. hon65

    hon65
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ring them, I am getting my refurb one tomorrow, yes you lose your data though...
    hope its ok and in mint condition as mine is spotless, will be upset if not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...