PS3 Upscaling

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by VBuckley, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. VBuckley

    VBuckley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

    I am getting a 42px70 plasma panny on the weekend and was thinking of buying a ps3.

    Quick question: Will the ps3 upscale normal DVDs when playing on it?

    If not, will the xbox360?

    Thanks for any help :thumbsup:
     
  2. smokedog

    smokedog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +411
    PS3 don't upscale DVDs, the 360 does but only via VGA.
     
  3. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    PS3 wont at the moment, 360 will over VGA if your TV accepts it.

    The TV will also upscale either console.
     
  4. Addie1

    Addie1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +3
    Neither the xbox360 or ps3 upscale at the moment,they may do in the future with a firmware/download update.Blu-ray discs for ps3 impressive but expensive at the moment.:)
     
  5. JayEm

    JayEm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +16
    The 360 upscales games and DVDs over VGA and soon HDMI, just games over component.
     
  6. Wicker

    Wicker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +16
    The Xbox 360 upscales if you play the discs through the HD-DVD drive via component.

    Looks so much better then the standard 360 DVD drive.
     
  7. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    No it doesn't... it plays standard DVDs at 480p (not even 576p, so it's downscaling and losing information).

    Upscaling via component is against some kind of agreement with the movie studios - even most upscaling dvd players don't do it.

    upscaling is *so* overrated though.. it's just buzzword of the month. Your TV is upscaling already.
     
  8. druidvideo

    druidvideo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    Please dont comment on things you have no idea about.
     
  9. Houghsx

    Houghsx
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    City 17
    Ratings:
    +3,365
    The PS3 currently does not upscale but plays them in 576p as reported by my Panny PX70. The Xbox does but ONLY via VGA (HDMI will once it arrives) its against the rules via component.
    You dont need to worry as the image is fantastic at 576p :thumbsup:
     
  10. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,878
    Uh no it doesnt :rolleyes:

    As has already been said a few times now, the 360 only upscales over VGA.
     
  11. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    I'm sure some people just reply to get their number of posts up. :nono:


    'YES, 532!!!!'
     
  12. WibXL

    WibXL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +379
    As had been said it won't upscale DVDs but it will upscale the files contained on the DVD if you rename them from .vob to .mpeg and put them on the PS3s HDD or probably from an external storage device as well. Probably takes around 30min per film to sort out but it's useful if you want to be able to view the films upscaled and store them (Only ones that you have purchased) for easy playback on your PS3.
     
  13. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,878
    I thought the PS3 didnt currently have a scaler at all? which is why 720p games cant be displayed any higher than 720p

    If that is still the case then how can it upscale .mpeg files stored on the HDD?
     
  14. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    A single cell processor can scale an image whlist sleepwalking probably. The GPU can too. It's not exactly an arduous task... no need for special hardware.
     
  15. WibXL

    WibXL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +379
    Hmmm not sure, I can definatly say though that the file stored on the HDD being played back at 1080P definatly had less blockiness to it then the file being played directly from the DVD at 576i. Software scaling perhaps?
     
  16. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,878
    I am sure it can but I didnt think scaling of any type was being used at the moment and that a possible firmware update in the future would add it, is this still not the case?

    Couldnt that just be down to progressive vs interlaced?
     
  17. WibXL

    WibXL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +379
    I don't know enough about the difference between progressive and interlaced to say for certain but I thought that the main difference between the two is a lack of flickering and not blockiness? Even if it's though it's still a better picture than what you get straight from the DVD.

    EDIT: Just had another look and it actually outputs DVDs at 576p so it's not the difference between i and p
     
  18. D@Z

    [email protected]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +74
    As has been said already, the 360 is a VERY capable upscaler. Since trying the 360 I have never switched my £200 dedicated upscaling DVD player on as the 360 did a much better job. The player is a Sony N92 if you want to look into it and youll see its a very highly rated player in its own right. There is a cheaper, lower spec player, 76 something or other, which is also well thought of but the 360 is far better than the 'top end' N92.

    PS3 doesnt upscale.
     
  19. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,878
    Ok so does the PS3 have a scaler at present or not :confused: because if it doesnt then how can what WibXL has said make any sense :rolleyes:
     
  20. WibXL

    WibXL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +379
    It might not have a hardware upscaler but it could do so in software just like a PC can. Why it doesn't do that for DVDs I don't know.
     
  21. JayEm

    JayEm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +16
    It can scale through software but for some reason it does not for DVDs (this shouldn't be too hard to add).

    Scaling games without a dedicated chip will probably eat up a lot of CPU.
     
  22. markmitt

    markmitt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes, the 360 does have a capable scaler chip (ANA), but the DVD playback quality is so poor that the existence of the scaler is negated.

    My Samsung DVD-HD850 is far better at DVD playback than the 360 (from my personal experience), and all for about £60. So if my £60 player is better than the 360, then there is obviously something wrong with your £200 player. And just to mention that DVD playback via PS3 is a step above that of the Samsung player, even at just 576p...
     
  23. psikey

    psikey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,834
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,044
  24. drskhaled

    drskhaled
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +108
    one thing i've noticed is how opinions vary so much on the quality of scaling dvd's. Some swear by 360's upscaling others feel their tv's do a better job. Point is its all a bit subjective.

    The ps3 doesnt scale dvds (not that i'm that bothered really) but what is a real loss is the lack of scaling for games. This is where the 360 shines (along with all the vga resolutions available). A few games that do 1080p on ps3 look excellent as do BR films but switching to 720p (or less) on other games compares badly to 1080p in terms of sharpness (again my tv's scaler may have something to do with that). What i have noticed on the 360 is no matter what the native res of the game it can upscale the game to a higher res in a razor sharp fashion (basically looks as though its rendered in that resolution). I'm sure this is largely due to the excellent hardware scaler in the 360.
     
  25. dsanders_sco

    dsanders_sco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I know this is a PS3 forum, but that comment is really unsubstantiated. Upscaling quality is a subjective matter - you could have at least added "in my opinion".

    In my opinion, my 360 scales really well through VGA. There is some blockiness occassionally, but no more (or less) than my Panasonic DVD which upscales over HDMI.
     
  26. D@Z

    [email protected]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +74
    Im sorry m8 but thats absolute rubbish. I'm not stupid, I know what Im talking about when it comes to scaling and image quality. The N92 is a great quality upscaling DVD player for the price and can more than hold its own against 'proper' players cost over twice the price. I know exactly what it can and cant do and how good the upscaling is. Whether you like it or not, my DVD player churns out an image your Samsung player can only dream about and my 360 is at least as good as it and in all but a very few areas it is better. I suggest you look at your setup and look into what part the scaler in your screen is playing because something is definitely amiss somewhere.
     
  27. psikey

    psikey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,834
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,044
    Just to add to the discussion.

    As a trial:

    I used AnyDVD & DVDShrink to rip a single VOB of BandOfBrothers Episode 5 off my DVD with just the 5.1 English audio track.

    Then renamed it from .VOB to .MPG and copied it across to the PS3 (about 2.4GB).

    The file played fine upscalled at both 720p and 1080i (dependant on your XMB setting).

    You loose the chapter jumps & the audio does not come through as 5.1 digital on my PS3 but as 2 channel PCM which you can apply DolbyProII to create a surround field.

    Not watched it from start-finish so don't know if there will be any lip sync issues (isn't in first 10 minutes).

    Not sure why the 5.1 isn't played but it confirms that the PS3 as no problem upscalling the DVD material to 720p/1080i (and likely 1080p if your TV does that, mines doesn't).

    Don't see the point though, as the DVD playback at normal 576p is perfect anyway with the TV upscalling it, and you keep the 5.1 audio.

    Can't see why they won't add upscalling to actual DVD playback pretty soon.

    Just to complete my trial, I'm now going to convert the .mpg to mp4 AVC 720p 4MBPS with PS3 Video 9 to see what the quality is like & resultant size.

    Then delete it all & stick with the original DVD anyway as it so much easier :D
     
  28. WibXL

    WibXL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +379
    Been having a bit more of a mess around myself and noticed that you lose 5.1 which is a shame but what annoyed me more was that you seem to lose all of the audio on stereo tracks which could be a problem:)

    The scaler in your TV must be better than mine as it does look better on my TV when upscaled but the audio problems mean that I'll just be sticking to the DVD now any way.
     
  29. psikey

    psikey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,834
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,044
    What do you mean with this part :confused:

    Also, it would be no good for a full 2 hour type DVD as it couldn't exist as a single .mpg file over about 4.2GB on a FAT32 drive (PS3 can't see NTFS). The only reason I can see for even wanting to do this is to convert the resultant mpg to a much smaller mp4AVC on your hard drive (which I believe is against UK copyright laws anyway).
     
  30. WibXL

    WibXL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +379
    I tried to watch a file that had a 2 channel AC3 and unfortunatly there was no sound to be heard. The file played fine on my PC but not on my PS3. I pressed the triangle button with the file selected and there was just a - in the audio codec box so I'm not sure what the problem is but it's not picking up the fact that it has a 2 channel soundtrack.
     

Share This Page

Loading...