PS3 Update 1.93 What's New?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Usama, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386
    Just downloaded it anyone know what's new?
     
  2. BlackCountryBob

    BlackCountryBob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +63
    I'm not certain and I am by no means an expert but from what I can see it has done nothing at all in the way of adding features, even after having a look through some different forums and it seems the only purpose of 1.93 was to solve network connection issues that some people were having since 1.92 was released.
     
  3. allgoodh

    allgoodh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    yeah it's just a network connection update.
    i read it on the sony blog.
     
  4. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,485
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    and something to do with PSP update. Nothing exciting. Mines updating at the moment....
     
  5. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386
    OK Thank's
     
  6. Tigerblade

    Tigerblade
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590
    I can see ppl are using Home now. Displays the same way as when the friend is playing a game under their nik. I assume it's the firmware as I've never seen it before. Hopefully means Home for us non-beta testers will soon be here :)
     
  7. W_Wonka

    W_Wonka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    I check the HOME website everyday to try and get on Beta Trial but it's still the same message about keep checking back to register your interest. Have I missed the boat or is it the US version of HOME that you mean ?
     
  8. Hynod

    Hynod
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +226
    that might be folding at home mate
     
  9. FlawlessAbyss

    FlawlessAbyss
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does this update fix the Tekken connection issue? Where it kicks you out as soon as you connect.
     
  10. Tigerblade

    Tigerblade
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590
    The guy who is using Home has told me bits about it so I knew he was using it anyways, whilst before the update it displayed nothing now it shows up. He is English so I'd assume it's the English version but I couldn't tell you for sure, I'll ask him next time he's on GRAW.


    No it's Home, if it were Folding @ Home then it would say 'Folding @ Home' under the username :)

    Next time it's on I'll get a photo to show the difference.
     
  11. kevin_irl

    kevin_irl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Very disappointed with this update. Ive got a wireless connection and it is still getting disconnected. If im on for say an hour it would disconnect maby 2 or 3 times. When I first got wireless first it was fine then suddenly it kept disconnecting. What a joke!
     
  12. Tigerblade

    Tigerblade
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590

    Wierd, never heard of that happening, you may have obviously thought of this but have you ruled your router out?
     
  13. KSK MAfio

    KSK MAfio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milan
    Ratings:
    +6
    Never had this problem, i got a netgear router. I had a similar issue with my mac with a belkin one.
     
  14. Tigerblade

    Tigerblade
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590
    K in answer to which region is beta testing for Home, apparantley it is region free, no locks/regions, and the pic to show you it ain't '[email protected]' :)

    [​IMG]
     
  15. cjpaul

    cjpaul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Conna
    Ratings:
    +14
    Downloaded this today on pc to install via usb. The file sizes of both 1.92 and 1.93 appear to be exactly the same?

    Maybe this is 'cos the website is still linking to 1.92 in error...any ideas?

    Anyways no big deal obv. just a bit strange that the files appear identical.
     
  16. essex

    essex
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    just walked back to my router myself as I keep getting thrown out - and my router seems fine as I'm looking at this webpage on my pc all right!!!

    this has started happening after downloading 1.93 tonight..................
     
  17. smjxm09

    smjxm09
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +81
    More than likely to be a temporary loss of the wireless signal than a problem with the PS3.

    My BT home hub is almost directly above my PS3 in the bedroom above yet I get drop outs when using my laptop in the same room. Just glad I fitted a LAN connection to the PS3
     
  18. insomniak123

    insomniak123

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Balamb Garden
    Ratings:
    +370
    the files are always the same size, they contain a whole new update with the bits changed rather than bits of code that get 'put into' the old one. if that makes sense.

    i.e you get a burger. then, say, for example, update 1.93 gives you a cheeseburger. it doesn't just give you the cheese to add to the burger you originally bought. it gives you a whole new cheeseburger and takes away your original plain ol' burger :smashin:

    i'm hungry
     
  19. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386
    I am confused! So has Home realy been launched or not? :confused:
     
  20. russd1978

    russd1978
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +122
    No not yet ;)
     
  21. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386

    OK Thank's
     
  22. Tigerblade

    Tigerblade
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590
    No not generally, it has been released to the lucky sod's who have been selected to beta test it tho.
     
  23. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,343
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,371
    I'm guessing that we'll see Home in a big update for 2.0. Looking forward to that coming out personally, but I guess it will only be as good as the content accessable from it.
     
  24. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386
    You need to delete one you have 2 same post's! ;)
     
  25. CurleeToes

    CurleeToes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +546
    whens the 2.0 update ecspected and whats going to be in the 2.0 update? i hope the 2.0 update will make you be able to stay signed in whilst watching films so you can download and the xmb in games and also folders to put your downloaded games in.
     
  26. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    I think all this talk of burgers has gone to your head... :D
     
  27. livingbasshead

    livingbasshead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Basildon
    Ratings:
    +6
    Last week after weeks of no prblems whatsoever with my wireless connection the thing suddenly failed. I could no longer see my SSID and every time I did manage to connect it just disconnected due to a much poorer signal strength than I had before - even though nothing had changes. I tried a few new channel numbers from my netgear router and it fixed the problem! I have no idea why I had to change this but there must have been some new interference from somewhere?!? Anyway - try doing that and see if it works. I changed from 1 to 10
     
  28. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386
    Dam keep forgetting the a!!! :suicide: :suicide:
     
  29. AVdavid

    AVdavid
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was checking the audio settings when did CD playback at 96 and 192kHz get added?

    Dave
     
  30. AVdavid

    AVdavid
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...