PS3 to Bravia LCD - HDMI or Component?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by KTroopA, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. KTroopA

    KTroopA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +97
    Hi all,

    got my ps3 hooked up to my S series by component and running 720p - looks sweet :) but wondered is there any benefit from upgrading to a HMDI cable? Also would i need extra sound cables? More than happy with the current lead tbh but is HDMI better?
     
  2. hey69

    hey69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes hdmi is better. Its actually the best option out there, creating a fully digital link with your TV. but then again, if you are perfectly happy with your cable as it is now.. its up to you.
    I just bought my own hmdi cable (1.5meter) for only 9.99euro in a supermarket here in belgium. I'm going to buy a lcd tv next month when the sales start
     
  3. FullMetalAlchy

    FullMetalAlchy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As Hey said

    HDMI all the way for the best possible connection. You'll need a HDMI-HDMI cable
     
  4. KTroopA

    KTroopA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +97
    ok guess my next question... what HDMI cable do you guys recommend :)
     
  5. cooldude00

    cooldude00
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    can't u run 1080i on your bravia? i have a S series as welll and can do so - then again most games are in 720p
     
  6. KTroopA

    KTroopA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +97
    yeah XMB runs fine in 1080i and games in 720p. looks great :D
     
  7. BigAndy_1979

    BigAndy_1979
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Inverness
    Ratings:
    +13
    If you got HDMI cable for 9.99 Euro do you really think it's good :p.

    Do you really think you will get the best picture only because you got some cheep HDMI cable, at the end of day it's really depends how good is quality of cable it self.
    KTroopA is using component connection and if he has good quality lead the picture quality might be even better than picture from your HDMI :).
     
  8. hey69

    hey69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what makes you think a 99euro hdmi cable is better then a 9.99euro cable?

    hdmi as dvi is a digital carier cable. you get good picture or you dont get picture at all. you cannot compare this with a component cable.

    btw, companies make a fortune on accesoires like cables . it cost them 0.1euro to produce in a factory somewhere in china.
     
  9. BigAndy_1979

    BigAndy_1979
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Inverness
    Ratings:
    +13

    Yes for the 9.99 Euro cables :rotfl:.

    Even if it’s HDMI or DVI cable the picture quality will depend on components used to produce cable. For example if it has poor isolation it will pick up surrounding signals much easier which will distort main signal and it will worsen picture quality.
     
  10. hey69

    hey69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well thats your opinion and i'm fine with that.
    I'm sure you feel more confortable paying more for a cable. each his owns
    but i'm smarter then that
     
  11. rickyjohn

    rickyjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +23
    BigAndy - HDMI is a purely digital transfer (as I'm sure you don't need to be told!!). But the point is is won't suffer from 'interference' or anything like that in the same way an analog cable will. So the reality is a 9.99 cable will perform exactly the same as a 99.99 cable over short to medium distances. As long as you don't buy it from the blind fella who put it together in his garage you should be ok!!
     
  12. BigAndy_1979

    BigAndy_1979
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Inverness
    Ratings:
    +13
    OK I might be missing something here, so would you be so kind and share your opinion. All I said is based on facts I have read in past, but if you stating it’s wrong then correct me, please :).
     
  13. BigAndy_1979

    BigAndy_1979
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Inverness
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks, looks like there is something I’m missing as I was pretty sure that even digital cables can suffer from interference :rolleyes:.
     
  14. hey69

    hey69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what i wanted to say is , yes probably a 100euro hdmi cable could have better shielding etc, but for you and me a 1.5meter cable wont give you a noticable difference in quality on our TV's. problem is i presume for very long cables.
     
  15. ngenius1

    ngenius1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi guys, since your discussing cables can you tell where i can get a HDMI to Component or VGA.
    Thanks
     
  16. hey69

    hey69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ehm ? hdmi to analog ?
     
  17. WelshBluebird

    WelshBluebird
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rhondda
    Ratings:
    +135
    they do. But since digital is either a 1 or 0. Even with interference, it should be pretty easy for the TV to tell what is a 1, and what is a 0.
     
  18. Smak

    Smak
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +212
  19. Mickus

    Mickus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Ratings:
    +332
    That's a good point actually. HDMI 1.3 supports data transfers up to 10Ghz - whereas most cables support up to 5Ghz. Whilst no one has a 1.3 TV, it would seem silly to replace your cables when 1.3 becomes the norm - epesically those who buy the expensive type...Does a 1.3 spec HDMI cable even exist yet? :rolleyes:
     
  20. FullMetalAlchy

    FullMetalAlchy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't buy a cable which will go from HDMI to VGA, as one is digital and the other is analog. But you might want to consider this

    http://cgi.ebay.com/HDMI-to-VGA-RGB...Converter_W0QQitemZ320063650849QQcmdZViewItem

    it might do the trick for you, I considered hooking my PS3 to a monitor but in the end got a HDTV with both HDMI connections and VGA connections and did a way with my monitor instead.
     

Share This Page

Loading...