Ps3 storage issue

Fat_Tony

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Hi folks

I'm not a newbie to consoles but having a load of hassle with a ps3 I picked up from cex for my kids.

They only have minecraft and I think time crisis installed, but when I try and install star wars force unleashed it says not enough room.

It's only a 12gb ps3, something I didn't know when I picked it up. The storage says it's got 4 gb available but the game only needs about half that, yet still won't install.

Any tips or is it just not much use?

Thanks

You might consider upgrading it with a hard drive, not very hard to do, but you will need to get the drive caddy too since the 12GB PS3 doesn't have one.

Thanks, we have a few options but its just a bit of a pain. They can probably swap it with the PS3 they keep at there Nana's as they only play Minecraft there whereas at home they play a few other games.

I wouldn't be confident trying to change hard drives, probably just return it to CEX and pay the difference to get a bigger storage model.

I get the operating system requires storage space, like on all gadgets but its annoying it states we have more than enough free space, but it wont actually let us use it.

I think the 12GB PS3 was introduced so that users could put larger hard drives in such as a 1TB. Folk were putting in the larger hard drives even when their console came with say 320GB. It made sense for them to bring out a cheeper 12gb model.

You just remove a few screws, take out the existing hard drive, and fit something like this 1TB hard drive

Samsung M8 1TB 2.5" 9.5mm SATA 3Gpbs Internal Hard Drive -PS3/PS4 Compatible: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

For the new hard drive to fit you will also need this..

Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket: Amazon.co.uk: PC & Video Games