PS3 settings...

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by oasisnut, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    so, i have my ps3.
    watched 'click' bluray last night....very good picture, but has a bit of grain.
    i just want to make sure i have my settings correct.
    i have 576, 720p & 1080i ticked on ps3.
    my tv is sony bravia KDL3210U ( ACCEPTS ALL RES EXCEPT 1080P)
    when i watch click it flashes up as 1080i
    when i play motorstorm it flashes up 720p

    i assume that the tv is AUTO finding the VERY BEST RESOLUTION for whatever iam playing/watching at that time....?

    cheers
     
  2. jackal

    jackal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    James,

    Those settings are fine. You will probably be aware that the PS3 cannot currently output BD movies at 720p, so 1080i/p is your only option for HD movie playback (if you deselect 1080i, you will be viewing movies at 480i).

    Games on the other hand are apparently encoded at 720p.

    Given that your Sony display is reflecting this, all is OK.
     
  3. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    cheers.
    i expected as much:D
     
  4. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    another question....
    is there anyway i can chenge the grey band to a colour on the menu screen of the ps3?
     
  5. Markk

    Markk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just found out myself yesterday that the PS3 has no internal scaler, so it outputs all formats at the native resolution.

    Standard DVD 576 lines.
    Games 720 lines. (until they start appearing at 1080)
    Blu Ray 1080 lines.

    It all made sense when MAW pointed that out to me.

    I do think that the PS3 manual is rather vague as to whats going on.
     
  6. awink1

    awink1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,316
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +315
    I'm afraid that's not 100% accurate. The PS3 does scale and quite well I must add. The scaling is done by the Cell Processor.
     

Share This Page

Loading...