ps3 screen keeps going on then off

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by ROBIN50N, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. ROBIN50N

    ROBIN50N
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +470
    hi, i hooked up my ps3 with my lg32lc46 tv today via hdmi and it played, but the pic and sound kept going blank every minute or so, so i plugged out cables in the ps3 and tv and put them back in whilst they where still switched on and now all the screens saying is no signal. ive done a reste and all that but it ist wrking. can plugging the cable out of the tv have broken that hdmi socket?
    :lease:
     
  2. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +238
    Not sure if you have broken the socket, or not but have you got all the settings correct, on your TV and PS3? Have you tried plugging it in via scart or component?
     
  3. ROBIN50N

    ROBIN50N
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +470
    yeah it just wont work with the hdmi cable. the cable was only cheap one from amazon, could that hav been the cause of the screen cutting out. i hope i havnt damaged the hdmi socket on the tv.
     
  4. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +238
    I presume your TV does not have a 2nd HDMI socket to try it?
     
  5. ROBIN50N

    ROBIN50N
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +470
    actully good point, yeah it has, still no joy. tried th ps3 on another tv via the dvi and it worked then. maybe it where a dodgy cable. like i say when it did work the scree kept going off then back on again.
     
  6. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +238
    I'd suggest going down the trial and error route, contact amazon say the cables faulty, get a replacement and try that, if it still fails then it would suggest that there is a problem with the whole HDMI chipboard in the TV or the PS3. (I could be wrong so dont take that as gospel, I'm no TV engineer)

    Try the PS3 (if possible) on a different TV via HDMI and on your own TV with a new HDMI - that should eliminate some possibilities.
     
  7. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    It may also be a handshake issue between the PS3 and the TV. That is a long shot but it may be possible. I think trying a different cable first is probably a good idea. Also try the reset trick as it may be an incompatible resolution issue. Turn the PS3 on and keep pressing the on button until you hear two beeps.
     
  8. ROBIN50N

    ROBIN50N
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +470
    yeah i did that too. to be honest i might just take it back to where i work and get my money back, its more trouble than its worth. its a 60gb aswell,its a shame.
     
  9. ROBIN50N

    ROBIN50N
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +470
    update for anyone intrested, the cable i was useing was a cheap one from amazon, so thought as a last atempt to buy a decent cable, i got a 1m sony one for 29.99, and it works perfect. so maybe cheap cables arnt as reliable as some people say.:clap:
     
  10. Darth_terra

    Darth_terra
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +949
    It's more the case the cheap cable you had was just faulty it does happen, my HDMi cable only cost me £10 and it's worked perfectly, Digital cables either work or don't, you were just unlucky with your previous cable that is all.
     
  11. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I agree. It's more likely to have been a faulty cable. A lot of people here including myself use cheap cables without any problems. Infact one of my HDMI cables only cost me 99p and works perfectly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...