PS3 Power

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Rookies, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Do you guys turn your PS3 off at the back of the base or just stick it on standby?

    Cheers
     
  2. Mark Botwright

    Mark Botwright
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,341
    Just put it in standby. I read that it can cause problems if you turn it off and on at the back.
     
  3. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Really that not good is it... I hate standby as it still use power just like TV standby
     
  4. Naqv

    Naqv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +355
    Can anyone confirm this?, as I switch my PS3 off from the back all the time.:lease:
     
  5. blicky_1

    blicky_1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +516
    I'm sure it will not cause a problem as it is just like switching it off at the plug.
     
  6. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I don't see why there would be any reason switching it off at the back regularly would cause any problems.
     
  7. Raitzi

    Raitzi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    Ratings:
    +79
    I agree ,but put it into standby before switching power off from back.(just to be sure)
     
  8. coluigi

    coluigi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +86
    I pull every plug out of the wall when I'm not in my room.
     
  9. Jonstone

    Jonstone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Prestatyn
    Ratings:
    +545
    Long arms or telekenisis?
     
  10. CasDon

    CasDon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +38
    I always put the ps3 into standby then turn it off at the switch on the back.

    The manual does warn that you can corrupt the HDD & OS if you just turn off at the back switch so its just like with windows perform a full shutdown before turning off/removing power.

    I have a big thing about leaving stuff on standby - hate paying more to the utilities than I have to, but if you think about it leaving any equipment on standby will cause it to wear out sooner - its like leaving your car engine running over night.
     
  11. coluigi

    coluigi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +86
    smart arse
     
  12. ISEEDUMBPEOPLE

    ISEEDUMBPEOPLE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    LMFAO. I almost choked from laughing too hard.
     
  13. deepan88

    deepan88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    personally, i leave my tv, ps3, dvd player and amp on standby.


    moving slightly away from thie OP's q...what do people think of powering the ps3 via a UPS system? b'casue i need to replace an old APC one i had for my pc...and the good thing is that my PC, the PS3 and the TV can all be protected.


    Deepan
     
  14. Hornet2112

    Hornet2112
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +63
    That's genius! :rotfl:
     
  15. Mec

    Mec
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +19
    :rotfl: You have to admit it was funny though :rotfl:
     
  16. Mark Botwright

    Mark Botwright
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,341
    Yeah i don't like it as i always turn all electrical equipment off whilst not in use. I'm pretty sure it was Gamesmaster magazine that said something went wrong after they turned it off at the back but i think they didn't power it down to standby first.
     
  17. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,076
    It was very funny and witty :D

    I too pull the plug out, i turn it off via the standby switch on the front first though.
     
  18. Kryptix

    Kryptix
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +259
    Does the PS3 use much power when it's on standby? I always leave mine on standby (never turn it off via the switch on the back), but my nan asked me today and I honestly dunno!
     
  19. Hornet2112

    Hornet2112
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +63
  20. m4rkie23

    m4rkie23
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +192
    I found this thread from a while ago and was wondering if anyone actually had any facts about the ps3's power?

    Is it better to turn the ps3 off at the back (after shutting it down correctly)

    or

    Is it better to leave it on standby

    (along with my sky box, lcd, stereo, external hard-drive)
    then theres all of the heating required for my lizard...................

    anyone wanna donate to the mark's room electricity appeal :lease:
     
  21. skysnapper

    skysnapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +87

    Its better to switch it off at the back your saving energy this saving the planet ;o)

    In all seriousnees though i cant see a problem switching it off at the back, always switch everythiing off at the wall from stanby, never using the power off switch and never had any thing die all my life (parents ingrained it into me!)...amps, lcds, games consoles, all plugged in items..before i go to be and while im at work. Where did you hear this rumor?
     
  22. m4rkie23

    m4rkie23
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +192
    what rumour's that skysnapper???

    Do you for a fact that it doesnt do any damage turning it on and off all of the time or is that just personal experience??? (which by the way i totally agree with)

    I just wondered why alot of LCD's on the market dont have on/off buttons, there just left in standby??? (ive notived if i turn it off at the wall it loses the settings for channel names etc)

    and if i turn my stereo off at the wall i have to reset the time when i turn it back on?
     
  23. skysnapper

    skysnapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +87
    Just wondered if you may have heard perhaps someone on the internet for example say that switching it off mat the power may damage it? I mean i unless i had heard a rumour i would have never worried about switching an item off that was designed with an on off button would harm it.
     
  24. m4rkie23

    m4rkie23
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +192
    O i c...my bad!

    a friend has bought a new pc and in the vista instructions it said that you shouldnt turn the pc off, just leave it in standby???

    then this thread came up on the home page http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=699720

    so i just searched the forum for standby and found this thread, but i havent found any conclusive evidence???? just wondering if anyone had found out any info????

    thanks for the quick replies!! :smashin:
     
  25. HRF1T2007

    HRF1T2007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,597
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +229
    Hi

    There is no evidence to conclude turning any electrical item off (once it has been put into stand by properly) via the switch on the appliance or via the wall socket, will damage the appliance.

    The appliances are tested and designed for that purpose and the power drain from the items is done gradually to relieve any stress on the internal components, ideally all items should be attached to surge protectors as it is the spikes in the electricity that will damage any component in any electrical appliance, and would recommend everyone to purchase one.

    The only time I have seen any damage done to an appliance was an old Amstrad analogue sky TV decoder (the ones with the red numbers on the front and the days when sparklies were the norm) and the issue was a design flaw in the components that once it had cooled down the insulation on the capacitors cracked and had to be replaced, this was a simple fix and once done was fine to be turned off at the socket

    TV especially the CRT variety not sure about LCD used to degauss when turned off which was good for the screen, so I for one have always left the minimum items on standby Sky + and DVD Recorder only because if I remote record does not work if switched off

    Hope this helps
     
  26. barahawk

    barahawk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I shutdown mine as normal and after a second or so of red light on ps3 bang goes the power. Not had a problem with mine. The only thing on standby is my sky box - tv goes into standy then the power goes - but i dont loose no settings (sony 46").
     
  27. m4rkie23

    m4rkie23
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +192
  28. HRF1T2007

    HRF1T2007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,597
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +229
  29. AJUK

    AJUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +105
    i'm going to start turning everything off, i have switch on my surge protector so its not hard.

    What i leave on stand by:

    TV x2

    Ps3

    Amp

    Wii

    ps2

    Cable box

    Freeview box

    dvd player

    stereo

    left in the socket:

    Laptop charger x 2

    Phone charger x 2
    :eek:
    I bet over the course of a year that will all add up to a few pennies.
     
  30. m4rkie23

    m4rkie23
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +192
    my plug is behind a set of drawers, and the other is under my bed in the centre of the head board (if you know what i mean) and i have the extension lead with majority of my items concelled so you cannot see the cables (sorry about being picky)
    even if i took this cover away i would have to unplug each individual item from the extension lead.....not reali practical??

    what do u reakon>
     

Share This Page

Loading...