• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

PS3 NAS MediaServer Software Recommendations

alcatrav

Standard Member
Hi, I've been looking through these forums for half a day and can't quite get the answer I'm looking for. I'm pretty new to this, but here is what I want:

Primarily - I want to store all media (music, videos, photos) on a NAS (connected to my Billion 7404VGP router). I want to stream the media to my PS3. I do not want to have a PC running for this job. I don't want to build an HTPC. (It seems to me that the PS3 should have the power to do all the processing, and I should be able to store the data on a remote drive (NAS). The idea of setting up a PC instead of a NAS seems like a duplication of hardware).

What I've learnt so far:
There are plenty pieces of media server software available (as per the sticky guide here). The guide doesn't say whether they can run from a NAS though. I believe Twonky can run from a NAS. I've seen some reviews that Twonky is a bit average: (QNAP NAS Community Forum • View topic - Twonky is not really a media server). Are there any others?

The media server of choice seems to be the Java "PS3 Media Server". Does this run on a NAS?

Do you have to have a media server to stream media to the PS3? If the NAS was just a basic storage device - e.g. network drive - can you still stream the data?

I'd like to be able to manage the media libraries stored on the NAS via a web interface - not via the PS3. I'd like to be able to ensure MP3 tags are correct, folder structures organised etc.