PS3 HDD formating to Win7 before power on.

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by colmmcc, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. colmmcc

    colmmcc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Everyone,

    I have a noisy FAT 320Gb PS3 if I buy a new slim 160Gb PS3, can I take out the HDD before powering on, and format within windows to use within windows (as when PS3 formats it with its propriety FS)?
    Going to put the 160Gb into the FAT.
    Thanks for any advise.

    G
     
  2. Kaden101

    Kaden101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Castleford, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +157
    The hard drives in the PS3 are a standard 2.5" sata hard drive. You can reformat them & use them on your PC if you wish. The drives are not transferable between PS3's without losing all of your data, so just make sure you've got your user data onto your new PS3 before wiping the old hard drive.
     
  3. duffbeerdrinker

    duffbeerdrinker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,277
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +707
    Didn't I read somewhere that the hard drives in the slim are thinner than the ones used in the fat PS3?
    If that is true you would not be able to use the old 320gb drive in the slim.
     
  4. Axum

    Axum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +805
    All drives are exactly the same in all PS3's, except the storage size.
     
  5. Kaden101

    Kaden101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Castleford, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +157
    There is an issue with a hard drives physical size if you are looking at replacing your PS3 hdd. They can't be bigger than 9.5mm in height. There are some 2.5" sata drives slightly taller than that, & they physically won't fit. That's probably where the confusion lies. As far as I'm aware, that's the only issue.
     
  6. colmmcc

    colmmcc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just I have old 40Gb in FAT (then updated to320GB) then connected the 40Gb to sata or usb sata. Windows wouldn't format or recognize, also tried lynx boot disk and MAC.
    When was reading originally said was porpritey FS.
    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice