PS3 From America

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by hardyz2, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. hardyz2

    hardyz2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone,

    I am of on holiday on Thursday to the States, and was wondering if it is worth buying a ps3 from over there for my son. From what I have read elsewhere I know that the blue ray stuff is region only, but I don’t think he will be too bothered about watching movies on it. He has a lot of ps2 game but most of them are back up’s so I assume they would not play on a UK system either. Is there anything else that I should know before I go ahead and by one.

    Cheers,
    Hardyz2 :clap:
     
  2. Naqv

    Naqv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +355
    Someone on these forums, who bought a PS3 from the U.S a couple of months ago, is now having problems with the Blue-Ray drive and Sony UK are not going to fix it. Therefore, I would just put up the extra £50 or so and get one from the UK with warranty.
     
  3. Snatch

    Snatch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +104
    Have a look at the sticky at the top of this forum..
    Should answer all your questions about compatibility, power, region coding etc..

    I have had two machines from the States (20gb and 60gb). Both have been absolutely fine..Just the luck of the draw i guess. If you get a chance to test whilst out there, that would be wise.
     
  4. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    First of all as already mentioned the warranty will not be valid here so if by chance anything goes wrong then you will be on your own. Having said that PS3's in general are very reliable but like with all consumer electronics you never know if and when something will go wrong.

    Secondly UK PS2 and PS1 games as well as region 2 DVD's and some region B only blu-rays will not work. Bare in mind that a lot of blu-rays are region free despite what region they specify on the case but you have to know which ones.

    Thirdly if you're planning on using an SDTV with the PS3 then PAL PS3 games will not work on it when played on an import console so you would have to stick to import PS3 games. Obviously if you're using an HDTV this is not an issue.

    At the end of the day it's not worth doing unless you know what you're getting into and are happy with the warranty and compatibility issues.
     
  5. psychocandy

    psychocandy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If I buy one from the USA when I go there on hols, what issues am I going to face?

    Will I need to get it chipped to play UK games? If so, how hard is this and how much does it cost?

    What about the voltage difference? Or are they multi-voltage and just need a different plug?
     
  6. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    Hi there, try looking at the faq and having a search of the forum.

    Your questions have been answered a multitude of times.:)
     
  7. PygoShlee

    PygoShlee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +155
    Can only play US and Jap (I think) Blu-rays, and only US PS2/1 games.

    Nope, no need for a chip its completely region free for PS3 games.

    Just need a kettle lead (ones that plug into a PC) with I think a 5 amp fuse (Or 3amp someone correct me!)

    Ash
     
  8. Naqv

    Naqv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +355
    ^^^ No UK Warranty if the PS3 goes belly up.
     
  9. ibby!

    ibby!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +31
    a guy called Moogle knows a lot about importing and the issues and things

    im sure he'll see the post soon and give you his words of wisdom ;)
     
  10. barghest

    barghest
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
  11. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    As Dave W said it's always best to do a search before posting as information on questions like this has usually already been discussed. I've merged your thread with a similar one a few days ago asking the same thing with my response.
     
  12. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    Importing is a great way to save money and most people have had no problems at all, ofcourse their will be the odd case as their will be here in the uk but mostly its all positive. Ask the seller if you can return if faulty.

    Uk voltage questions always pop up but nearly all elec. products have a multi voltage transformer included or a step mode transformer which will do the job fine. Either way a transformer can be had very cheaply.
    Alot of PS3 games are also not region coded so no bother, and RyanGames on ebay sells them region free originals very cheaply if you dont mind the 1week wait for delivery.

    Rgds

    Ch

    *****************

    thats ryans_games with the underscore!
     

Share This Page

Loading...