PS3 FAQ - Please Read Before asking Any Questions

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by shay0, Dec 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    This is the official AV Forums PS3 FAQ thread. If you have contributions to be made, please post a reply and a moderator will collate the information into the main FAQ. In addition if you find any old threads which you think are essential reading, please reply with their details (preferably a link) so we can include them in the list. Thanks

    Table of features - which model does what

    AVForums & PSN
    1) Using your Portable PSN ID on AVForums


    General FAQ Index:

    1) Do i need an expensive HDMI cable or will a cheap one do?
    2) What leads do I need to get High Definition output from my PS3?
    3) Can I use my computer monitor to run PS3 games?
    4) Can I upgrade the Hard Drive in my PS3?
    5) How do I transfer files from my previous 2.5" HDD to a new, and bigger HDD if I want to switch?
    6) Can I connect my PSP to my PS3?
    7) What can I do when I connect my PSP to the PS3?
    8) Can I turn off the tilt sensing in games?
    9) Can the PS3 contract a virus?
    10) Is there a list of blu-ray films that are region free?
    11) Here's a list of PS3 Gamer Tags, so you can play on-line with friends.
    12) What Can I Do With Yellow Dog Linux?
    13) What is "Folding @ Home?"
    14) How can I get involved with [email protected]?
    15) What headset can I use with my PS3?
    16) Can I set my own wallpaper in the Cross Media Bar?
    17) Why does the background of the Cross Media Bar change colour?
    18) How can I organise my MP3 collection on my PS3?
    19) Is there a review available for the PS3?
    20) Where Can I download the latest firmware update?
    21) Will The PS3 Allow Me To Stream Media From My PC?
    22) Can I Use My Own Themes For The Backgrounds And Icons In The XMB
    23) Can i use my PS3 Eye camera with my PC?


    JAP/US Import Index:

    1) Will my USA/JAP/Hong Kong PS3 work in the UK?
    2) Do you need a voltage stepdown to play the US PS3 in the UK?
    3) Can I play PAL (UK/Europe) games on my US/JAP PS3?
    4) Can I play PAL (Europe) PS1 and PS2 games on my US/JAP PS3?
    5) Can I play Blu-ray discs from other regions on my US/JAP PS3?
    6) Can I play PAL DVD discs on my JAP PS3?
    7) Can you play PS3 Games from Japan on a US Console and vice versa?
    8) Where can I buy (import) games from?
    9) I have bought a Japanese Console, can i select English as my language?
    10) What can the Premium PS3(60GB) offer that the Standard(20GB) can't?
    11) How do I connect a 20Gig NTSC PS3 to my wireless network?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2009
  2. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
  3. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Things you will need:

    * 20Gig PS3
    * An Ethernet Cable (basically a network cable you use to connect a PC to a router)
    * Linksys Wireless-G-Game Adapter**
    * Some sort of Wireless Router

    The Linksys wireless game adapter is the best one for this job as usb adapters don't work with 20gig PS3 but this will. The link below gives you some stores to buy it from:

    http://www.webuser.co.uk/products/Linksys_WirelessG_Game_Adapter_review_1892-213.html

    Then connect as follows

    Plug Ethernet cable into PS3 and also into Linksys Game Adapter***. Then connect your wireless router to your modem.

    **Linksys G Adapter doesn't support WPA network security it only supports WEP security.
    ***This works by making the console believe there is a cabled connection to the router, it just converts the signal to Wifi instead.
     
  4. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    The PS3 doesn't come with any HD leads so you'll have to buy your own.

    The HD lead you need is dependent on the HD inputs on your television. Typical HD inputs are:

    - HDMI
    - Component
    - DVI
    - VGA

    Since the PS3 has an HDMI port built-in you can use and HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to DVI cable.

    Gamespot UK have a very comprehensive FAQ on High Definition for the PS3.
     
  5. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2009
  6. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
  7. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    There isn't a definitive answer to this at the moment - we'll just have to wait and see until the PS3 is released in Europe.

    But you can play JAP games on your US PS3 and vice versa as region locking isn't being used by publishers at the moment but that's not to say that they wont region lock games in the future.
     
  8. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    No.

    PS1 and PS2 games are region locked and the PS3 knows this so wont let you play your UK PS1/PS2 games.
     
  9. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Yes. If you have a 20GB model you can connect the PSP via the USB cable that comes with your PS3.

    You can connect the PSP wirelessly to a 60GB model.
     
  10. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    You can download games from the Playstation network from your PS3 directly onto the memory stick on your PSP.

    There are a few PS1 titles (available on the Playstation Store) than have been converted to work on the PSP - these downloads are not free and currently cost* around $5 (US dollars) per download.

    * Price is correct at time of writing 22/12/2006
     
  11. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Blu-ray is region coded, check out the chart below (or the attachment for a graphical image) to see a breakdown of regions:

    Region Code (Area)
    A/1 (North America, Central America, South America, Korea, Japan, Taiwan, Hong Kong and South East Asia)
    B/2 (Europe, Greenland, French territories, Middle East, Africa, Australia and New Zealand)
    C/3 (India, China, Russia, Central and South Asia)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Yes but only via Linux, the PS3 OS will refuse to play them.
     
  13. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    So far so good*. Apparently all Sony games will be region free, and the current* games out in the US play on a Japanese console and vice versa. But we still don't have definite info on whether this will remain the case - apparently there is a mechanism for region locking if certain publishers want to.

    * At time of writing 22/12/2006
     
  14. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Yes. When you first boot up the PS3 you have the option to select your language.
     
  15. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    No. The PS3 has a switching 100-240v PSU inside them, so no step down needed.
     
  16. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    * 40GB more HDD space;
    * WiFi built in;
    * Card readers built in;
    * Direct connection to the PSP for remote play (watch videos, photos, music on your PSP).

    But don't forget, the Standard 20GB can be upgraded. You can also fit a bigger HDD, a Linksys Wireless-G-Game Adapter and you can connect your PSP to the PS3 via USB Lead.
     
  17. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Yes, you can turn it off, but only if the game developer chooses to give that option to you in the game.
     
  18. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    The simplest way is to back up your files onto a external drive such as a USB stick or an external hard drive and then transfer them back into your new HDD after you have finished installing it.
     
  19. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Yes it can. As it is running Linux, the chances of it getting a virus are very low though, due to the small number of infections in the wild*.

    * Information correct at time of writing 22/12/2006
     
  20. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    The easiest answer is No.

    This is due to the true answer having a thread of it's own already and that still doesn't seem to have a 100% definitive answer for ALL monitors at present, never mind in the near future.
     
  21. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
  22. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
  23. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2008
  24. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    Folding @ Home is a project run by Stanford University that harnesses the power of the PS3 to calculate what happens when proteins "fold".

    You can find out more here.
     
  25. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
  26. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    There is an excellent guide found by Jogon and put in a thread by Mickus that details various headsets that are available and what functionallity they have.

    Take a look here.
     
  27. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    Not at the moment though this may be included in a future update.
     
  28. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    The XMB changes colour throughout the day and also with the seasons, there is currently no way to change this.
     
  29. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    There is an excellent guide written by CTR_Paul available here.
     
  30. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    There is a detailed and comprehensive video review created by one of our members TVR_Fan which is available in this thread.

    You have the choice of torrent, rapidshare or youtube links.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...