Question PS3 error 8001003e

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by mojogoes, Jul 2, 2015.

  1. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    Hi all!!

    After my son bought and installed and updated a brand new gt6 game disc! after updating all he is getting is the 8001003e error code and his game will not play..................Does any one know a fix for this.

    The one and only thing ive tried is a systems file reinstall but it didn't work cheers.

    Steve.
     
  2. Nakatsu_Hime

    Nakatsu_Hime
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK / Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +72
    What do you mean by a 'systems file reinstall'? Do you mean safe-mode's Restore File System?

    What I would have suggested first, is to completely delete any installed game patches (anything in the Game Data Utility folder), and to reinsert the game's disk, and allow the PS3 to download any patches again.
    Ensure the game's disk is clean. No sticky fingermarks :)
    These problems have also been resolved by obtaining a replacement game disk from the retailer, as the physical disk MAY have a fault.

    The error code actually means 'Pointer Is Null', How that relates to 'Error Reading Data', we'll never know.
     
  3. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    Hi and thanks for the info / suggestions!! i bought the disc brand new from fleebay yesterday and it came as such! i had allready done an install of some sort with my used disc and was surprised to have to do it again when we inserted his new disc.

    After the update it came up with the error right away?
     
  4. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    I will try what you have suggested tomorrow thanks!
     
  5. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    Just to report back and tell you that your suggestion has worked so many thanks Nakatsu_Hime:smashin:
     
  6. Nakatsu_Hime

    Nakatsu_Hime
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK / Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +72
    Yay! All good :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...