PS3 DVD/CD playback

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by UnicronI, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. UnicronI

    UnicronI
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any details on this?

    Will its play SACD/DVD-As?

    Will it upscale DVDs?
     
  2. criggy

    criggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +81
    [​IMG]

    here are the offical spec's.(could change)for audio/video.

    AV Output Screen size 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p
    HDMI HDMI out x 2
    Analog AV MULTI OUT x 1
    Digital audio DIGITAL OUT (OPTICAL) x 1
    Disc media
    * read only CD PlayStation® CD-ROM
    PlayStation®2 CD-ROM
    CD-DA CD-DA (ROM), CD-R, CD-RW
    Super Audio CD Hybrid disc(HD layer/CD layer), HD layer
    DualDisc DualDisc (audio side), DualDisc (DVD side)
    DVD PlayStation®2 DVD-ROM
    PLAYSTATION®3 DVD-ROM
    DVD-Video DVD-ROM, DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW
    Blu-ray Disc PLAYSTATION®3 BD-ROM
    BD-Video BD-ROM, BD-R, BD-RE

    it should upscale video to 1080p/60.standalone blu-ray players will.
     
  3. UnicronI

    UnicronI
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dam, no DVD-A playback. Anyone know if the 360 does?

    I imagen that includes prog scan?
     
  4. criggy

    criggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +81
    sony would never do dvd-a(thats why they have sacd)

    it will do progressive scan.

    i wouldn't be suprised if sacd gets dropped TBH
     
  5. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,151
    Especially given the cost involved.
     
  6. criggy

    criggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +81
    plus AFAIK,no standalone blu-ray player supports sacd.
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,151
    But only a few have been announced, I'm sure they'll try and incorporate the functionality into future stand-alone players.
     
  8. DanDT

    DanDT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,169
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +144
    Of course it will include pro-scan! the machine goes all the way up to 1080p!! Going through 480P, 720P to get there too :D
     
  9. jedi-jae

    jedi-jae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I hope there will be built in routines to upscale PS2 games to fill an HD screen.
     
  10. brain_stew

    brain_stew
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Aswell as adding some AA, the jaggies in PS2 games look horrendous on a HD screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...