PS3. can anyone recommend a router please?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by bee123, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. bee123

    bee123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Help anyone? i have had my ps3 connected to a linksis but sent it back because of the poor signal quality. Then i bought a Netgear dg834n and when i got that set up the signal quality was no better, am i missing something or is having a signal strength of 45-50% acceptable?
     
  2. M1keF

    M1keF
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +70
    the signal strength depends on the location of the PS3 in relation to the router.

    If you give some more info we may be able to help
     
  3. bee123

    bee123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    My router is upstairs and the ps3 is down. The distance between both is no more than 6 meters. There is only my computer and printer in the same room.
     
  4. pprovart

    pprovart
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It all depends on how far you are away from the router and the number of walls/metal/materials between you.

    Things like 802.11n may help and speedbooster technology....

    Or you could just run an ethernet cable if the signal is so bad.

    Signal strength and quality go together had in hand so the higher they are the better.

    If the wireless is that bad you could either

    1)buy a range extender
    2) Connect an ethernet cable to the PS3
    3) use the power outlets in your home.

    so may options.
     
  5. M1keF

    M1keF
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +70
    have you tried having the ps3 in the same room as the router to see what signal you get

    My router is upstairs in my house and my laptop gets a signal around 50-60% downstairs and the kids PC gets a signal of 90-100% upstairs
     
  6. mundstick

    mundstick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +55
    I am in the same sitaution, my router is upstairs and my main PC and PS3 are both downstairs.

    Altohugh I only get between 50-70 % signal strength it reaaly does not cause me any major problems.

    I quite happily play COD3 online etc with no noticable problems.

    What sort of problems are you experiencing?
     
  7. bee123

    bee123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    the main problem is loss of connection and it will not connect.
     
  8. russd1978

    russd1978
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +122
  9. ddavewoods

    ddavewoods
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    I have a Linksys WRT54GS v4

    the router is upstairs and the PS3 downstairs the signal strength was 80% good but not 100% so I bought a Netgear WAG 102 access point and put that in the same room as the PS3, I already had an RJ45 cable running from upstairs to downstairs so no problem there, that improved thing enormously and I got 100% signal strength from PS3 media renderer and laptops.

    I then heard of a third party firmware for the Linksys WRT54GS V4 router called DD-WRT V 23 SP2, this adds a lot of extra functionality to the router including a wirless output adjustment mode, I installed this firmware and increased the wirless output from 28mw to 70mw, theoretically you can increase it to 250mw, but 70 is the recommended, I now have 100% from the router in its original location, result, the acess point can now go, the firmware has also fixed the UPNP not available message I was getting I now have UPNP available and NAT 2 without having to forward any ports, there is a lot more in the firmware that i havent explored yet, but it looks really good, so if you have a WRT54GS V4 I would highly recommend upgrading to this firmware, especially as its free.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...