PS3 Blu-ray,any good

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by idolm, Sep 15, 2007.

1. idolm

idolm
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi :hiya:Sorry if this question,or a similar question has been asked before.

I have a PS3 connected to my Pan 26LXD70 via HDMI.I have been looking at the latest SONY Blu-ray machines,with the possibility of purchasing one very soon.

Now the question,just how good is the PS3 as a Blu-ray DVD player?.Do I really need to buy a dedicated Blu-ray player?.

Like most out there I am new to Blu-ray.Thanks.

Cheers:thumbsup:

2. SeanMc172

SeanMc172
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    PS3 Blu-Ray playback is of a very good quality at both 1080i & 1080p,
    We own a Toshiba HD-DVD Player and it often comes down to the quality of the movie your playing. Batman looks fantastic on HDDVD, My favourite movie for hd-dvd picture quality is a BLU-Ray movie called Black Snake Moan starring samuel l Jackson. Hands down beats anything I have seen on either format.

I really do not think you will be able to tell the notice between a samsung BLU-Ray and PS3

3. CarlB

CarlB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +282
    The PS3 is great as a Blu-Ray and upscaling DVD player.

4. idolm

idolm
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello SeanMc172 and CarlB:hiya:

Thanks for the help.I will make do with the PS3 for now.£500-£600 seems a lot for a Blu-ray player,when I have one all ready.Nice thought,but I will wait for the prices to drop.

Once again thanks for your help;

Cheers ,mike:thumbsup:

5. matt78

matt78

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14