PS3 as a SACD and DVD-A Player???

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by bsimmer3000, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. bsimmer3000

    bsimmer3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +24
    Ok does anyone have any info on how good a player it is for both formats and does it even play dvd-a files???
     
  2. Bratfud Recusant

    Bratfud Recusant
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3,074
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Shire of York
    Ratings:
    +892
    Hi there,

    Funnily enough, I just set mine up this past weekend to play my multi-channel SA-CD's and was blown away. I had a Denon DVD2930, and I would say that the audio quality from the PS3 was pretty comparable when I recall what my Denon was like. On an all-in-one console, I was pretty impressed :clap:

    As for DVD-A, I have no idea :confused: Although, I doubt it plays full blown LPCM DVD-A, it will obviously playback the plain old :dd: tracks on them...

    HTH mate :smashin:

    LAGAVULIN
     
  3. bsimmer3000

    bsimmer3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks for the reply. good to hear it works well on SACD would be good to know if it works on DVD-A as well as this will get rid of a lot of uneeded equipment.
     
  4. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    As far as I know the PS3 does not support DVD-A. Since it is a rival format to SACD there is no reason for Sony to support it.
     
  5. Spinke

    Spinke
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Ratings:
    +608
    It definitely does not support DVD-A, best make sure any HD-DVD player purchase does then you can do everything in two boxes :D.
     
  6. Bratfud Recusant

    Bratfud Recusant
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3,074
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Shire of York
    Ratings:
    +892
    Hi guys,

    As said above, ALL DVD-players will support the 'bog-standard' :dd: track available on DVD-A's, so even though the PS3 won't give you the full LPCM 24bit/96hz audio track, it will playback standard :dd: audio on the DVD-A.

    However, I know of no HD-DVD player that has or will have DVD-A support (may change as the formats become more established :confused:) - shame, as Bsimmer3000 says, having one (or even just two) boxes that do it all would clear up the need for umpteen boxes. To be honest, that's precisely why I've just sold my Denon 2930 :cool: A superb piece of kit, but I just don't need three units in my rack for all the media formats I use :nono:

    I'll just have to put up with the standard audio on my DVD-A's for the time being.

    Regards to all,

    LAGAVULIN
     
  7. davidkingmartin

    davidkingmartin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    PS3 will not play the SACD "layer" of a hybrid thru optical out. You need to use the multiAV-phono connection, audio only. This is irritating as I normally use optical. Needs re-setting any time I play a SACD.
     
  8. bsimmer3000

    bsimmer3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +24
    But it should be fine through a hdmi connection???? as i have hdmi 1.3 amp
     
  9. jerryfb

    jerryfb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +49
    Yeah,

    SACD through HDMI works fine. You need to select the multi-channel option if that is available but mine defaults to it anyway. IMHO it sounds fantastic. I've also got a Pio DV600 which does both SACD and DVD-A, but for some reason the SACD bit locks up at points and just starts again. So with two boxes I can do SACD, DVD-A SD-DVD (upscaled) and BD.
     
  10. bsimmer3000

    bsimmer3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +24
    Yeah jerry the ps3 for me is killing a lot of birds with one stone. cd player,upscaleing dvd player, sacd player, dvd-a player but only 2ch for now, blu-ray player, games console, media center so dont have to have me laptop plugged in anymore, internet browser for basic browsing. what else can this thing do as this truley is a av dream piece of kit for me now lol
     
  11. Bratfud Recusant

    Bratfud Recusant
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3,074
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Shire of York
    Ratings:
    +892
    Hi bsimmer,

    I can second that mate :thumbsup:

    LAGAVULIN
     
  12. davidkingmartin

    davidkingmartin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Agree: it has enormous potential as a Media Centre. I could do with a "playlist" or "favs" facility for the audio, in the manner of WMP.
     

Share This Page

Loading...