PS3 and Samsung Anynet work together

gchristofi

Standard Member
I'm a complete newbie to all this stuff, but I've been fiddling around with settings on my Samsung Ps50c7000 with hdmi connection to PS3 and discovered (by accident) that my TV remote control will works for PS3 controls once you select the correct input...

I did not expect this... what a bonus.

Anyone know if this will work if I pass it all through Onkyo HT-S5305 system?

Pictures are great but sound needs upgrading :smashin:

dsmudger

Don't have an Onyko to be able to help you, but the generic name for the function that make all this work is 'HDMI-CEC' - try having a look for that in the Onyko manual?

EDIT: curiosity got the better of me ;) your Onyko does support it - see p.33 in your manual - you need to turn on what Onyko call 'RIHD'

Press: Setup -> HDMI Setup -> HDMI Control (RIHD) -> ON

and then optionally the three options below that that become enabled..

in your case I think you'll need to enable 'TV Control', so the TV remote controls the amp, not the other way round (I suspect it'll be better that way round, as the majority of the time you don't need quite as fine grained control of the amp as you do the TV..)

Last edited:

gchristofi

Standard Member
Hi dsmudger

Thanks alot. I did get this working through the Onkyo, and thankfully the telly remote is aslo controlling the av receiver in an intelligent way.

I jumped the gun a bit proclaiming that the PS3 works though.. More testing shows that it works to a level, i.e. navigation and enter work (incidentally, the iPhone Samung remote is a great way of getting a keyboard on the PS3 with this setup), rather annoyingly though, the play and pause buttons don't work for the ps3 even though FF FRW do! damn

if anyone knows a way to tweak this please let me know.