ps3 and downloading at the same time

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by sheephorse, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. sheephorse

    sheephorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    452
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi

    if im on the psn network and downloading on the pc should i install a firewall or will my netgear dg834 v3 firewall be ok

    many thanks :hiya:
     
  2. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,151
    I wouldn't have thought that there is a risk of a virus getting into the PS3!?! :confused:
     
  3. Darth_terra

    Darth_terra
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +965
    Hi i have the same router as you and it has a Hardware 2 level firewall built in, im surprised you didn't know that it had one, it's very secure as long as you leave it enabled you shouldn't have a problem.
     
  4. sheephorse

    sheephorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    452
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi guys thanks for replying

    i know i have a firewall built into my router but if i use the internet on my pc and my ps3 isnt on will this firewall be safe enough to use and will i not have to install a seperate firewall

    sorry im very new to online lol
     
  5. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    You only need one firewall and the hardware firewall in your router is better then a software one. The firewall in your router is between your internet connection and your PC and PS3 so it acts as a barrier to both. If you're paranoid you could also have a software firewall on your PC but it's not really neccessary and would only eat up system resources.
     
  6. stu.artd

    stu.artd
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +333
    At the very least use the built in firewall provided with Win XP (assuming that's what you're using) on your PC, however I'd suggest downloading and using the free version of zonealarm as that's more effective and will allow you to control what outbound communications are being sent from your PC.

    Doing this won't cost you anything and is an additional layer of security.
     
  7. Darth_terra

    Darth_terra
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +965
    He has a hardware firewall built in to the router which is better than any software so he has no need to do that as moogle says it will just eat up resources and offer no better protection than what he has.
     
  8. stu.artd

    stu.artd
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +333
    Thanks for that but I can read :)

    A software firewall also allows outbound comm's control and application filtering.

    I'd sooner have that additional security layer than not have it, but each to their own.
     
  9. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    As software firewall is not very secure at all - the first thing a virus is going to do if it gets on your system is disable it. A firewall should not be running on the same machine that it's protecting - that's just basic network security.

    upnp has the same issue - anything that gets on your box can blow holes in your external firewall which then makes it pointless. In that case it's a balance of convenience and risk.. do you want to have control over the firewall and know exactly what ports are coming in and out or do you implicitly trust the applications you run to not open unneeded ports and leave you vulnerable?
     

Share This Page

Loading...