PS3 amp and sound query

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Moiizer, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. Moiizer

    Moiizer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Batley, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +953
    hi guys

    im a bit confused with linear pcm and bitstream. i have my ps3 connected to my amp via optical.

    when linear pcm is selected i press select and its playing through dts-hd ma and when i select bitstream it just says DTS.

    i have read somewhere that when you have your amp connected via optical you should select bitstream, is this correct? as im no genious but i would have thought dts-hd is better than dts????

    im a bit of a novice so any help would be greatly appreciated :smashin:
     
  2. stuart1976

    stuart1976
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Timsbury, Bath
    Ratings:
    +252
    You wont get the HD sound using Optical as it does not have the bandwidth to carry the HD format. The best you will get is DTS or DD 5.1

    You will need a receiver capable of handling the newer HD audio formats and connect the PS3 to the receiver using a HDMI cable.

    At the moment you are best using the bitstream setting with your Optical connection.
     
  3. hondavee4

    hondavee4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +73
    plenty of talk here about this subject but basically the ps3 wont play the hd formats via bitstream, nor will it via optical as far as iam aware:rolleyes:
     
  4. hondavee4

    hondavee4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +73
    beat me to it:rotfl:
     
  5. Moiizer

    Moiizer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Batley, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +953
    thanks for your responses.

    so to get the hd audio i need to connect the ps3 to the amp via hdmi and not ps3 to tv via hdmi as i am now?
     
  6. stuart1976

    stuart1976
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Timsbury, Bath
    Ratings:
    +252
    I've just had a look at your surround and it doesn't decode the HD Audio formats so it wont matter if you connect by HDMI or Optical as the best you will get will be DTS or DD 5.1

    You are going to need to upgrade to a new receiver that can handle the HD Audio formats if you want to take advantage of DTS-HD And Dolby TrueHD
     
  7. Moiizer

    Moiizer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Batley, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +953
    thanks for that, did have a feeling it wouldnt but thanks for confirming :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice