1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 set-up with wireless router

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by daveb975, May 28, 2004.

  1. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +240
    Is it possible to use a PS2 with a wireless router?

    I have got a Netgear DG834 router, what would I need to connect it to the PS2? I assume I would still need the PS2 network adaptor?
     
  2. Tetlee

    Tetlee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19,655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Taunton
    Ratings:
    +4,267
    Hi daveb975,

    You're going to need the PS2 network adaptor however you want to connect to online, Game are selling the network adaptor with free Twisted Metal Blanck online at the moment for £20.00 http://shop.game.net/search.aspx, as for the wireless, I'm not the best to ask as I currently use ICS with a crossover cable to my pc.

    Anyway, good luck! :thumbsup:
     
  3. jongreen

    jongreen
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. alfienoakes

    alfienoakes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +115
    Thanks for that link, bit of a bargain that I reckon :smashin: Gone for one in preparation for GT4 :)
     
  5. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,508
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,727
    My PS2 works online and is chipped with a DMS3 chip. You just have to disable the chip and it's fine. Obviously you need to have a chip installed that can be disabled if required.
     
  6. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    For a cheaper alternative, see this thread here.

    The other nice touch is that you can power it from a USB socket on the PS2 so no extra power connection is required.
     

Share This Page

Loading...