1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 & Samsung LE26R41BDX telly

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by KiNeSiS, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. KiNeSiS

    KiNeSiS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    is anyone running this combo? i ask because the picture i'm getting from the PS2 is appauling!!!

    its really pixelly, looks worse than a PS1 game i s*** you not!

    i'm playing Pro Evo Soccer 5 which is supposed to look pretty decent (but it also looks proper rubbish on other games) - and i'm using a blaze RGB cable through the RGB input of the telly and all that and its still poo! - i normally have the PS setup on a 21" sony CRT and it looks 100 times better, i just hope when PS3 comes out High Def looks better that this crap...

    anyone know if i could be doing anything wrong?
     
  2. Chris White

    Chris White
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

    I got the 32" Freeview version and when I used the xbox through either, RGB or S Vid the pic was unplayable.

    I got the firmware upgrade and it made it a lot better, but then the next day I softmodded the xbox for HD with componet and was cristal!

    I suggest a good starting point is to find out what software your telly is and maybe get the upgrade kit from sammy. Ps2 i dont think is HD so perhaps get yourself a 360 when out?

    Chris
     
  3. Eiji

    Eiji
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    PS2 does 480p on quite a few games and 1080i on GT4.

    Xbox does 480p on almost all games and HD 720p/1080i on a handful of games.

    BTW, what did you say to Samsung about the poor RGB/S-Vid quality? Did you just say it was bad and they sent you the firmware upgrade and where did you purchase the set from?
     
  4. Ryan_is

    Ryan_is
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +13
    I'm running the 32" Samsung with a PS2, the answer is to buy a PS2 component cable(£8ish from eBay), the quality difference is amazing! Making sure you switch output to component on your PS2 and Digital optical out needs to be turned off too. Also seen one in use on my mate's Sagem Axium HD-D56, stunning!!
     
  5. Chris White

    Chris White
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i told them that the picture was unplayable as it was so ****. They phoned me back twice the next day and asked what hertz i was running at. i told them 60 and they send me cable and cd. All fixed.

    Chris.
     
  6. DanDT

    DanDT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +23
    What cable and CD? :rolleyes:

    EDIT: Ok got it, i've been researching old threads :thumbsup:
     
  7. grs

    grs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry but was is a firmware upgrade.
     
  8. Chris White

    Chris White
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sammy call firmware software...... its the update that comes with a serial cable, printed instructions and a burnt cd with the soft/firmware on
     
  9. markwombat

    markwombat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, I planning n getting a component cable for my ps2, however i also am using the optical out for my surround system when watching dvds with my ps2, do i really need to turn off the digital out?? if so why?
     
  10. Idonex

    Idonex
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can a non chipped PAL PS2 output via component in progressive scan? Or is everyone saying just using the component and not RGB SCART is what's improving the picture? This is basically why i haven't bothered getting this TV. If the standard output from PAL consoles is awful then..
     
  11. card monster

    card monster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm hopefully getting my Samsung 26" in the next week or so. When I do, I'll test my various consoles (chipped multi-region PS2 and regular PAL PS2, Xbox and Gamecube) using RGB and component wires and post the results.
     
  12. Evil_Homer

    Evil_Homer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Deal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the 32" version. Only got it last week. PS2 pq is awful with component cable. Picture actually looks better with RGB :suicide:

    I have set the PS2 to component out and switched off the digital out as well!

    I have spoke to Samsung and they said that this was not a known issue!!

    I pointed out this thread and they said they would invesitgate. Should have an answer on Monday.
     
  13. thelurch

    thelurch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    So are you saying if you turn off the digital audio out off on the PS2 then the pq will improve with component cable?. Im off to try that then!
     

Share This Page

Loading...