1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Region Free Hack

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by dts borg, Dec 3, 2001.

  1. dts borg

    dts borg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    Ratings:
    +8
  2. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,173
    A little bit tipsy to have a go at trying im afraid :( but I do believe that this was the hack for the very early Jap PS2 releases
     
  3. stewarthollyhead

    stewarthollyhead
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can buy a program called region X

    which makes your playstation 2 region free

    you can buyt it for £17.99 from play247.com a very good dvd / games site
     
  4. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,173
    Did you get it to work DTS ?
     
  5. Desticado

    Desticado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    anyone got any methods for playing 'backups' of PSX or PS2 discs on a PS2?
     
  6. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +234
    You have to get a Neo chip installed and then use RegionX or Action Reply to boot up copy PS2 games.

    Copy PS1 games (PAL only) boot fine on a chipped PS2.
     
  7. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    Brand new Neo 4 chip can boot backups from the off without the need for a helping hand from Region X or Action Replay. Is a bit expensive though.

    As most PS2 games seem to be DVD-ROM, it's not really very economical to have to shell out for a DVD-RW to make backups. At the moment I'm saving money and hiding my games from friends/children/pets/old people.
     
  8. Desticado

    Desticado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Neo 4? is that an internal chip?
    Im not sure if I trust myself to chip a PS2 because from the plans that I looked at previously its quite a delicate procedure, unlike on the PSX.

    Benefits are that you can play all the old PSX games but also DVD-RW drives are plummetting in price for PC's (particualrly for trade).
     
  9. dts borg

    dts borg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    Ratings:
    +8
    No the hack did not work. Looks like I will have to keep swapping that region x disc.
    Oh before someone post's, go and get a real DVD player I have two. A Panasonic Region 1 player & a Sony multi Region player, IM just the sort of guy that if it CAN do something it WILL.
    PS2 & region X is great if your Multi region player don't play RCE DVDs.............;) & I can't be bothered with the region 1 players S-Video cable as this plugs in the front on my TV . Think I will get a new Region 1 player when in Florida next June...:cool:

    mmm whats the time I need some fine red wine, Oh better wait it's only 4 .15
    I need a drink when Man U play it's all his FAULT..... BARTEZ
    I would drop him mr F yea under a BUS


    Make it so
     
  10. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    There's places like www.kanection.co.uk or http://psxrepair.co.uk/ps2-chip.htm that do a couriered fitting service. Probably expensive though and certainly not worth doing while the machine is still in warranty I reckon. Eventually though...
     
  11. Yumi

    Yumi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey ppl, i just made an account so i may sound stupid, cuz i neva enter forums xD it's too troublesome for me. but i needed this question answered. so, i heard ppl talking bout this Region X stuff, and Shark err... shark thing, and all to avoid that damn region code. but i looked up some info bout region x, and it only sais something bout DVD's , so does that not include avoiding region codes for games? cuz that's actually all i need. so in other words, does anybody know a way to avoid the code for games, if region X does not include that?
    ~Yumi~
     
  12. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    There is no way other then hardware modification which cannot be discussed here.
     
  13. xist

    xist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +52
    I beg to differ. Using a chubby PS2, a network adapter and an IDE HDD, you can avoid the region check. You take your NTSC game, and then make an image of it on the HDD, if you have the relevant software you can play those import games direct from the hard drive.
     
  14. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I am aware of such a method. The reasons why I didn't mention it were two fold. One it's not a simple way of getting them to work and is not something anyone can just manage plus it requires the old style PS2, a hard drive etc. Secondly discussion of such methods is not allowed here and in future people should refrain from discussing it here.
     
  15. Yumi

    Yumi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what's the big deal? it's discussed here before, so so what, how could i know better anyway? so whateva, maybe Xist n me can just talk in private, with e-mail or somethin. whatcha think, X? u mind? you seem to know more about it :3
    ~Yumi~
     
  16. xist

    xist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +52
    Ok consider the matter closed....but can i just ask why the use of a HDD to play your own games is considered off limits when no hardware modification is involved?
     

Share This Page

Loading...