PS2 into component on pwd6

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by diabolik, May 13, 2004.

  1. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got a component lead to connect my sony ps2 to the component input on my panasonic PWD6 Y board. The problem is that I can see movies fine but the ps2 welcome screen and any games don't show on the plasma. They're playing because I can hear the sound. What could it be?

    Please help.
     
  2. Wazy

    Wazy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's interesting, I didnt realise you could get a PS2 to Component cable.

    I was going to do mine using a PS2 to RGB scart cable then going through a JS converter to the VGA socket.

    I wonder if the PS2 only outputs this signal for dvd playback only?
     
  3. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I got mine from whitedog.co.uk only £7. there's an official sony one as well but thats more expensive - surprise surprise.
     
  4. TrevorC

    TrevorC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I made my own component cable to connect my PS2 to my Samsung 32" LCD. Works a treat with DVD's and normal games. ?????
     
  5. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    IIRC you have to connect it to a normal telly first and select YPbPr from the setup or options menu. Then connect it to your plasma - sorted.

    These PS2 component cables pop up in ebay real cheap from time to time.
     
  6. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Planet,
    yeah I thought that before lunch and went home to try it. All works fine now. Fnatastic picture - I just wish the game makers made games with digital 5.1 sound.
    Cheers
     
  7. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    They already do. the FIFA Series Has DD5.1 and DTS and GTA:VC has DTS output as well and they sound superb. i wish there where more games with the digital sound
     
  8. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers Bauer, nice one, ill check them out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...