1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 into component on pwd6

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by diabolik, May 13, 2004.

  1. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got a component lead to connect my sony ps2 to the component input on my panasonic PWD6 Y board. The problem is that I can see movies fine but the ps2 welcome screen and any games don't show on the plasma. They're playing because I can hear the sound. What could it be?

    Please help.
     
  2. Wazy

    Wazy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's interesting, I didnt realise you could get a PS2 to Component cable.

    I was going to do mine using a PS2 to RGB scart cable then going through a JS converter to the VGA socket.

    I wonder if the PS2 only outputs this signal for dvd playback only?
     
  3. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I got mine from whitedog.co.uk only £7. there's an official sony one as well but thats more expensive - surprise surprise.
     
  4. TrevorC

    TrevorC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I made my own component cable to connect my PS2 to my Samsung 32" LCD. Works a treat with DVD's and normal games. ?????
     
  5. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    IIRC you have to connect it to a normal telly first and select YPbPr from the setup or options menu. Then connect it to your plasma - sorted.

    These PS2 component cables pop up in ebay real cheap from time to time.
     
  6. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Planet,
    yeah I thought that before lunch and went home to try it. All works fine now. Fnatastic picture - I just wish the game makers made games with digital 5.1 sound.
    Cheers
     
  7. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    They already do. the FIFA Series Has DD5.1 and DTS and GTA:VC has DTS output as well and they sound superb. i wish there where more games with the digital sound
     
  8. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers Bauer, nice one, ill check them out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...