1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 game pad extensions

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Gee, Oct 30, 2001.

  1. Gee

    Gee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,

    Does anyone know where I can get some PS2 game pad extension cables from that are around 5 - 10 metres long? I've seen some but they are only 2 metres.

    Thanks

    Matt:)
     
  2. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well you could always daisy chain them :D
     
  3. balders

    balders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    An alternative may be a remote transmitter device.

    I saw one for the PS2 in GAME a couple of weeks ago. You connect the receiver into the PS2 game port, and then plug a PS2 controller into the transmitter unit. You can then use the controller remotely.

    It cost about £30, but I don't know how good it is in practise.

    Nigel.
     
  4. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    Up to 10 metres?!? Why do you need to sit so far away? Are you renting and plugging the machine into a screen at your local multiplex, or storing the console at a neighbours house?

    Blimey.
     
  5. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    I perhaps went a little overboard there...
     
  6. Gee

    Gee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +5
    I want to run the cables behind a false wall so that I don't have cables all over my room. I was thinking of putting the cables under my seating so you can connect my pads directly.
     
  7. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gee, I did exactly that, but without the need for extension cables.. I just cut the ends off of a 2m extension (leaving around 10 cm of wire on the plug and socket) and soldered a length of decent multi core cable between them!... problem solved!

    Taz.:cool:
     
  8. Gee

    Gee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +5
    Taz,

    Thanks for the reply! What type of multi core cable did you use (how many wires are needed) and where did you get if from?

    Thanks:D
     
  9. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gee,

    I'm sorry to tell you that I used to work for a juke box company and thats where the cable came from.. in this case it was 18 core,
    but i should think that any decent multi core cable will do the job as its only carrying 5 volts max. why not try Maplins etc for a length of cable? as for the number of cores req. i dont remember so snip it and see! ;)

    I ran my cable behind the PS, through the basement, and up under the front of the sofa so i could just 'plug and play'!


    best wishes


    Taz.:cool:
     
  10. Duncan Harvey

    Duncan Harvey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm...

    I bought a load of extension cables and daisy chained them - the result - problems!

    Whilst playing SSX the game kept going into pause mode, making it totally unplayable.

    When I got rid of all but one of the extenders - no problem.

    Am I doing anything really stupid, or it there a "rule" about daisy chaining extension cables?
     

Share This Page

Loading...