1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Connection to AV amp >> HELP!

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by leehaynes, Feb 4, 2005.

  1. leehaynes

    leehaynes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,

    I've just put my home cinema setup together and i only get sound from the PS2 and no picture.

    I have a sony STR DB790 AV amp and have the PS2 connected with the standard lead (less the scart adapter) red and white plugs for sound and the yellow plug into video. These are all in the VIDEO 1 row (in the top row of connections.

    I have attached a pic of the back of the amp and hope someone can help.

    Lee
     

    Attached Files:

  2. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +116
    Im guessing you have also attached a Monitor out cable somewhere along the line to your TV
     
  3. leehaynes

    leehaynes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +5
    yes, sorry, i have s-video monitor out.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    perhaps the S-video lead for PS2 would be better.......alsoif AMP doesnt do video conversion the composite system wont work....
     
  5. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Certainly my amp wont up-convert Comp. to Svideo so this will never work.

    It would be better to use SVideo from the PS2 anyway because of the quality difference.
     
  6. leehaynes

    leehaynes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +5
    what about if i had a ps2 component video lead (rgb), what would be the chances of this working?
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    if you had comonet lead for PS2 you would need to use a component cable to screen from AMP (this is ideal) alkso AMP can switch 2 component inputs so can use this for DVD too..... for best PQ (what TV are you using? does it have component inputs?)
     
  8. leehaynes

    leehaynes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +5
    no, just scart and s-video. It's a Toshiba 32" widescreen.

    Thanks for the advice though. I think i'll have to buy a PS2 S-video lead - that should work shouldn't it as then there woiuldn't be any conversion?
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Yeah should be fine mate S-video all the way.................
     
  10. leehaynes

    leehaynes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks HD, i'll go for it! :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...