PS2 Component problem.

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Bren, May 6, 2007.

  1. Bren

    Bren

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    I just got a component cable for my Ps2 & i can get a picture but no sound at all.Its not my amp as my Wii works fine using the same component switch box. Is there a setting i need to change? I am having to use composite at the moment which is not ideal.
     
  2. chrissyman

    chrissyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    can you not use the optical digital out on the ps2 to your amp?
     
  3. Bren

    Bren

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    All my optical ports are already taken
     
  4. Jonesey

    Jonesey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +29
    have you changed the output settings also within the set up options?
     
  5. sk8

    sk8
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    B&NES
    Ratings:
    +17
    component doesn't carry sound
     
  6. PlexShaw

    PlexShaw
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +546
    All the PS2 component cables I've come across have stereo (red and white) phono cables attached alongside the red/green/blue video cables.
     
  7. Bren

    Bren

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    Yep mine have that but no sound at all.
     
  8. PlexShaw

    PlexShaw
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +546
    Faultly cable?
     
  9. Futurespect

    Futurespect
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +1
    Someone recently pointed this out to me.

    As for the sound, isn't there an option to disable optical out in the settings? I think if it's enabled then stereo is automatically disabled. Can anyone remember where that option is? If you just switch the PS2 on without a disc in, you'll want to look through the settings which come up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...