1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 - Component or SCART?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by ginger, Nov 17, 2004.

  1. ginger

    ginger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just bought an LCD TV and looking for the best way to hook up my PS2 to it. Had originally assumed that the best I could do was to buy a Sony component cable (ca. £15) then I saw that IXOS make a SCART cable for £23 - known good make of cables. Does anyone know which of these is likely to be better? Is there a good third party manufacturer of PS2 component cables?
     
  2. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,772
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,938
    Generally the component cables are slightly better than the RGB scart, although RGB still gives a good picture. I'd go for component though. The official PS2 component cable is supposed to be pretty decent.
     
  3. ginger

    ginger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - just found out that IXOS do make a PS2 component cable and it's available at hifistore.co.uk - will go for that
     
  4. MattTheBeanster

    MattTheBeanster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +93
    I've got one. Really good picture with the added bonus of prog scan that i find makes thinks much better too. Last game i played with that was Beyond Good and Evil. :)
     
  5. rich tee

    rich tee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +7
    Save your cash old chum.
    If you have a Toys R Us near you they sell PS2 component cables for £7.99.
    I bought them and they are superb on my 32'' 100htz Tosh.
    They also sell cheap games and not just dodgy old ones.

    Richtee.
     
  6. rafaqat

    rafaqat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've bought the component cable from Game for Ps2 and I'm having trouble getting a picture on the plama (Panny Pwd6). Tried setting the plasma to accept component and RGB. Get bugger all with either setting. Have set Ps2 to output component signal too. Any ideas?
    It's connected directly to my plasma at the moment. Still no pic. :confused:
     
  7. rich tee

    rich tee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +7
    Whatever Tv you have, plasma, Lcd, 100htz crt, if you're using component input / output with a PS2, both settings on the console and Tv should be the same.

    The console setting should be cr/yb/bc or something that looks like that, and the same for the TV.

    You can't have that setting and RGB because the plasma won't know where to send the pics.
    Also component is for picture only, it doesn't carry audio signals.
    If you are sure both settings are the same then scan through the AV channels on the Tv until you find the picture.
    Hope that helps.
     
  8. MillionDollar

    MillionDollar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    All the cables above, do they work with the new slim PS2?
     
  9. rich tee

    rich tee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +7
    Of course, but does your TV support component? Only newer ones normally do.
     
  10. Kippers

    Kippers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem - got PS2 component into my amp, then component to vga cable to panny PWD6 with no picture....
    WHY OH WHY ..... somebody help /...
     
  11. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +269
    I have got two cables for my PS2 - Ixos SCART and Sony component.

    I am stuck with using SCART at the moment as I have DVD on the component input of my plasma, and Xbox on VGA.

    I have tried them both out, though, and the component output is noticeably better - better colours and less jagged edges.

    I don't know if the Ixos component lead would be better still.
     

Share This Page

Loading...