1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 component cable

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by simch, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. simch

    simch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got a PS2 component cable from gameessentials and tried it on my infocus 5700 projector. I cannot get it to work!? Problem is, I have not run anything through the pj on component yet, its new and I am awaiting my denon 1920 dvd which is out of stock.

    But I am presuming the pj is ok, lead is brand new, may well be duff.......? Or is it a settin on the ps2 that I need to change?

    Old PS2 multi lead with composite and audio out works fine thru the pj. But PS2 will run through a 3805 with video switching once installed in the new room, and can imput to the denon av box either in s video or component? Would I be better wiht an s video lead?

    Could my PS2 be non component compatible, it is quite old, i would guess its a yr 2000 model or so? There are far more terminals on the component lead i got than the old composite lead.


    So any ideas anyone??
     
  2. simch

    simch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    got it working now, the component out was set to rgb! d'oh!
     
  3. thelurch

    thelurch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Where did you change the component out as I have just bought an IXOS conponent cable and it does not work plugged straight into my tv, I change the source on the TV to component and just get nothing, any ideas?
     
  4. thelurch

    thelurch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    dont worry, found out where to change it! Never knew you could!
     
  5. Matt Rage

    Matt Rage
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got one of the Ixos cables en route to me, so I presume I'm gonna hit the same problem.. where did you change it?
     
  6. DPT1976

    DPT1976
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +101
    Just go into the system config and you will find the option for it in there.
     
  7. monkeyspank

    monkeyspank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Change it while you still have the scart connected. Then swap the leads and you're away.
     
  8. Eiji

    Eiji
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,377
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    Do the IXOS component cables give better picture quality than the official Sony component cables or do yuo just pay more for the better 'build' quality of the IXOS?
     
  9. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    I had banding problems with the Ixos cable when running in progressive, stick with the official cable.
     
  10. Evil_Homer

    Evil_Homer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Deal
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is banding?? :lesson:
     
  11. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    When in progressive mode I could see slight vertical lines in the image.
     
  12. Evil_Homer

    Evil_Homer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Deal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where do you get the Playstation cable from, Currys or Dixons.?? I would like to try it and compare with my IXOS one, at least then I could take it back?!! :)
     
  13. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    I got mine from HMV.

    If you don't have any problems with the IXOS cable I would stick with it.
     
  14. Evil_Homer

    Evil_Homer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Deal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers dude :smashin:
     
  15. steve-o

    steve-o
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    So, how's the quality on the £6.99 cable, guys?
     

Share This Page

Loading...