PS2 Cable

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by RichB14, Nov 27, 2002.

  1. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    Nice easy Q
    The cable that is supplied with the standard uk model is it composite ?
    If so does getting a proper scart cable worthy, also can the PS2 output rgb scart ?
     
  2. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    Hi,

    The PS2 can output an RGB signal.

    I spent 15 quid on a Blaze RGB lead for my ps2 and the quality is amazing, the lead that comes with the PS2 is a composite lead which connects to a SCART plug but the quality is noway as good.

    Go for an upgrade and get an RGB one!!

    Dal :eek:
     
  3. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    Nice one Dal
    :D
     
  4. adox

    adox
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    dublin
    Ratings:
    +0
    you won`t be able to play dvd`s with an rgb scart. you will get a green screen. buy a datel x disc for ps2 and you will get rgb even on dvd and make your ps2 multiregion.
     
  5. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    Don't need it for dvd playback any more as i've just bought a sony and a pioneer, but thanks anyway.
    Dal where can I get one of those cable's ?
     
  6. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,844
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +82
    and dont forget to switch the rgb signal on from the ps2 menu either otherwise its all in vain lol.:D
     
  7. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    Hi,

    Just to add onto my first post, the BLAZE lead has a switch which takes out the Green tint when playing DVD's so eveyones a winner!!!

    I got mine in my local Macros (Rayleigh, Essex) but i have seen them in the big HMV stores, remember to get the RGB one as they do a slighly cheaper model which at a glance looks the same but isnt!!!

    Cheers

    Dal
     
  8. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    One last thing is rgb scart video only or does it still send audio as well ? Need to know as i don't have a reciever yet
     
  9. adox

    adox
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    dublin
    Ratings:
    +0
    the one i have carries audio as well, but it`s not the blaze one you are looking at
     
  10. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    Hi,

    It sends audio aswell through the TV.

    You also get some Phono leads from the lead which you can connect to your Amp for sound if you wish.

    Its a great lead for the price!!
     
  11. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    Is 12.99 a good price ?Cable
     
  12. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    Yep, thats the bunny!!

    Enjoy!!!

    Dal
     
  13. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    AHH
    Tv's coming friday where can i walk in to buy one ?
     
  14. John Jennings

    John Jennings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +5
    Just walk into an HMV/Woolworths/Game shop. They'll have loads of RGB PS2 scarts, probably cheaper than the Blaze one too.

    If you're not going to be watching DVDs I don't think the extra expense of the Blaze cable is worth it (it switches to a composite signal when you play a DVD. Quite clever though)
     
  15. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    Hi,

    Its def worth paying the extra for a decent RGB lead, there is no point having a decent TV if your cables are crap!!!

    just been playing vice city on my FX66 and its supurb!! The borg you still getting one???

    Dal :D
     
  16. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    Dal,
    Should be getting my fx66 this morning so need to get one of them blaze cable's today as the other half is out tonight so i have totall play time to myself. Do you remember where you got your cable from ?
     
  17. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    Bah
    Just been calling all the Game stores in my area and they don't stock this cable anymore as they reckon too many people bring it back with problems, when i asked what problems they said they didn't know, what a bunch they are.
     
  18. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +19
    Well just Ordered the Rgb Gamers cable instead of the ultimate as the only difference is the ultimate does better dvd and i won't be using it for that anyway.
    Happy Gaming
     
  19. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    Hi,

    Hows that new TV and did you managed to get a decent cable for the PS2???

    I have not had any problems with mine, and i reckon i have had it well over a year now!!!

    Im really pleased with the quality the FX66 and the PS2 put out!!

    Dal :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice