1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 'boot' problems

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by chromeman, Jun 27, 2004.

  1. chromeman

    chromeman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,
    I wonder if anyone can help. I am having a problem with my PS2 at the moment.
    When I turn the PS2 on, it doesn't seem to boot (to the main Sony screen with 'Browser' on it). It will boot about 1 in 30 trys of resetting it and if it does then boot, if I insert a CD or game, it won't load it!
    I'm not sure what to do. I managed to load a CD lens cleaner thing a couple of days ago but that didnt seem to help, in fact, its probably got worse since then.
    Any help anyone can give would be gratefull recieved! Thanks! :)
     
  2. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    sounds like your lazer is on its last legs. What happens to the game your trying to load if you don't do anything, does it just sit on the browser screen and do nothing, coz mine does the same thing but will load the game if i wait about 30secs.

    You can buy a replacement lazer for your ps2 for about £45 but your need to fit it yourself, i can't remember the name of the site off hand, but i'll dig around in my internet history to see if i can find it.

    this isn't the site but they do ps2 repairs http://www.thatzdvd.com/ps2_repair.asp

    the site that sells lazers might have been www.eliteconsoles.com but not sure.
     
  3. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think eliteconsoles will also fit it if you send it to them and pay for it to be returned to you
    drop them a mail very friendly, helpful people
    :)
     
  4. chromeman

    chromeman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,
    thanks for the replies. I hoovered out the vents and that got it working again but now, if I leave my memory card in, it won't boot, if I take the memory card out, it boots! Any ideas?!
     
  5. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +509
    might be worth getting a mates mem card and see if it does the same thing.

    Your mem card could now be faulty or maybe the mem port.

    Does it boot in slot 2??

    Dal
     
  6. chromeman

    chromeman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't actually tried this, will try later! Thanks mate!
     
  7. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +509
    Let us know how u get on!!

    Dal
     
  8. chromeman

    chromeman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello again,
    Tried putting it in slot 2 and it does the same, freezes or doesn't boot if the memory card is in so I'm pretty sure its my memory card!
    Time to buy a new one, how frustrating!!
     
  9. chromeman

    chromeman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Turns out it isn't my memory card, its my PS2! Tried my mates card in it today, does exactly the same, freezes or doesn't boot. Put my mem card in his PS2, no problems! Thats even more frustrating! I have a feeling it won't be cheap to repair either!!
     
  10. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +509
    Dont panic too much, you can buy replacement cards. have a look on ebay or do a search on google your be able to find the part you need to replace.

    Dal
     

Share This Page

Loading...