1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 and progressive

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by nunew33, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am now confused, especially after reading FAQ!

    The console FAQ says that on launch the PS2 supported 480i through componant, but some games now support prog scan.

    I thought it was the device that needs to support prog scan, games merely make use of that or not as the case may be.

    So, does the PS2 support prog scan? If it does how can you tell which models do and dont support it?

    Can anyone clarify what the issue is. Ive googled play station and prog scan but merely get lists of links to game sites where games support prog scan
     
  2. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +283
    The PS2 can only output Prog Scan with games that support 480p like Burnout 2 (hold down triangle and X whilst the game starts for the option) and Tekken 4 (same method I think). Its all via software.

    All PS2's cannot output Prog Scan for movies unless its the newer Jap/US machines named V9 and V10. These have hardware prog scan suport I think. Im still not sure about the PAL V9's as I havent tried them yet.

    Oh yes and you will need a component cable too, I recommend the Ixos one.
     
  3. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Bash. Thats cleared it up, many thanks.
     
  4. NAI

    NAI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    TBC
    Ratings:
    +5
    yeah, some games that support prog scan will ask you when the game loads, (50, 60 or prog?) primal, tekken, ghosthunter etc. some games it will be in the options, such as prince of persia and beyond good and evil.

    sony's own brand component lead is about 18 quid with P&P from: http://shop.uk.playstation.com/sony...=PlayStation+2+Accessories&product_id=9102700

    edit: also does anyone have a list of all PS2 games that support prog scan??
     
  5. Spoonman2

    Spoonman2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +163
    As for outputting dvd`s through progressive scan........ when I had a silver ps2 recently, I read the manual, and it only did NTSC progressive, and it was a UK machine, seemed a bit silly to me:suicide:

    I tested it, and thats how it was.


    Spoony.
     
  6. zantarous

    zantarous
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    682
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Can anyone answer this for me, I have a Tv that does NTSC progressive, what does a PAL PS2 out put is progressive mode in PAL or NTSC?
     
  7. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +283
    Spoonman2 has got the answer if you read mate, @spoonman: what was the quality like? Im thinking of getting a messiahed PS2 after I sell my old one as I need a decent dvd player for prog scan.
     
  8. zantarous

    zantarous
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    682
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Sorry I ment games not dvds.
     
  9. NAI

    NAI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    TBC
    Ratings:
    +5
    progressive scan on a PAL PS2 is an NTSC signal.

    i think. yes. it is. my tv is NTSC PS and is in built for pal signals. when i select progscan on a game it runs. so yeah its NTSC. plus i dont think PAL PS exsists yet?
     
  10. Spoonman2

    Spoonman2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +163
    Bash, I`d say get a dvd player m8, £150 for a decent NTSC progressive player, or if you`ve got/getting an xbox thats modded, use that, as it can be switched to ntsc, then it supports ntsc progressive :)

    Spoony.
     

Share This Page

Loading...