1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS on a 433

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by philipb, Nov 13, 2002.

  1. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,032
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +148
    Help from 433MXE owners appreciated, or even Joe himself.

    Connected my Sony 9000ES DVD player up to input 2 (component), and everything is fine on PAL interlaced signals (having set the 433 to component). But with a region 1 disc and the Sony set to progressive all I get is a small picture in the middle of the screen with a green tinge. Changing the 433 back to RGB instead of component doesn't help (of course).

    Connection to the plasma is from 3 RCA phonos on the Sony using BNC adaptors.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Check that the display is setup to receive NTSC Component, failing that I'd guess at a botched region 1 mod :(

    Neil.
     
  3. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,032
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +148
    Neil

    Everything was OK with the last plasma I owned, so I doubt the Sony is at fault. I'll check the settings on the 433 as you suggest.
     
  4. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Did you use the player with component outputs though ? I heard some Sony 725 mods botched the component out ports...

    Neil.
     
  5. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,032
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +148
    I've sussed it.

    The manual isn't very helpful on this. When you provide an NTSC signal into the component inputs, the menu settings are different. Under "setup" theres a new setting which cycles between VGA-wide VGA-video. Selecting video gives a perfect picture. This option is absent from the menu when a PAL interlaced signal is input.

    Obvious really!

    I knew it couldn't be the 9000ES - it gives a cracking picture in PS.
     

Share This Page

Loading...