PS on a 433

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by philipb, Nov 13, 2002.

  1. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,083
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +170
    Help from 433MXE owners appreciated, or even Joe himself.

    Connected my Sony 9000ES DVD player up to input 2 (component), and everything is fine on PAL interlaced signals (having set the 433 to component). But with a region 1 disc and the Sony set to progressive all I get is a small picture in the middle of the screen with a green tinge. Changing the 433 back to RGB instead of component doesn't help (of course).

    Connection to the plasma is from 3 RCA phonos on the Sony using BNC adaptors.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Check that the display is setup to receive NTSC Component, failing that I'd guess at a botched region 1 mod :(

    Neil.
     
  3. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,083
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +170
    Neil

    Everything was OK with the last plasma I owned, so I doubt the Sony is at fault. I'll check the settings on the 433 as you suggest.
     
  4. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Did you use the player with component outputs though ? I heard some Sony 725 mods botched the component out ports...

    Neil.
     
  5. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,083
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +170
    I've sussed it.

    The manual isn't very helpful on this. When you provide an NTSC signal into the component inputs, the menu settings are different. Under "setup" theres a new setting which cycles between VGA-wide VGA-video. Selecting video gives a perfect picture. This option is absent from the menu when a PAL interlaced signal is input.

    Obvious really!

    I knew it couldn't be the 9000ES - it gives a cracking picture in PS.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice