1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Prudent things to check when collecting CRT

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by BobbyBlaze, Aug 6, 2005.

1. BobbyBlaze

BobbyBlaze

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi Chaps! :thumbsup:
    I've just picked up a Sony 1271 CRT pj on eB@y that's alledgedly done only 350 hours.

[​IMG]

Pic of tubes.

Can anyone tell me what some of the most important questions to ask when picking up a pj? This one was described as follows:-

"I am the second owner of this projector.

The previous owner had it in storage for most of its life, waiting for what turned out to be very simple electronic and mechanical repairs, both of which I did when I first purchased it.(I'm a broadcast engineer by trade, so these have been done both safely and well).

When received, the projector had done a mere 116 hours of service. It has now done a leisurely 350 which was a film a week for 2 years in my case, plus a bit of telly for good measure. These machines, in a home cinema environment, can easily reach 10,000 tube hours, so this one is barely run in.

Check out the photographs of the crt faces, and you will see that there is the merest hint of use on the blue tube only, so this projector is extremely bright and sharp as a result of this. It also has very accurate, vivid colour rendition, in some ways better than the machine I have replaced it with. (also a crt projector).

Input wise, it is fitted with both IFB1000 and IFB10 modules, so it it good to go with RGBHV as well as "s" and "composite" video. You can therefore use this machine with a P.C. or standard video sources in PAL, NTSC or SECAM.

HDTV is easily within its scan range, and it looks great displaying this. It also looks good with line doubled, or tripled video.

It can display 4/3 and 16/9 formats at the press of a button.