ProV or not ProV?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by powlest, Nov 6, 2002.

  1. powlest

    powlest
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    What is the general feeling on the ProV? Is the picture quality out of it any good and will it cause lip-sync problems?

    Is this going to be any better than a ProV?
     
  2. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,051
    That product doesn't say what resolutions it supports, and you don't say what you plan on using it with.

    If you are using an AE100, then you want to be able to output XGA (1024x768) for the best results. If this thing only outputs 640x480 then it might produce mixed results.

    Some kind of box (proV, this one you mention, others) is good to improve normal TV/video viewing. The jury is still split on DVD playback, but generally they are an improvement when your projector doesn't have a good scaler (the AE100 doesn't have a good scaler)
     
  3. darhart

    darhart
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leigh On Sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    i can say that the prov can improve dvd playback, it is more obvious on a bad disc, i have a dvd of the original starwars which through the tv is great but the PJ shows up its flaws, when played via the prov the picture is greatly improved.
     
  4. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Definitely ProV for cleaning up TV........ very good on DVD, but not as good as HCPC - haven't seen native Prog scan DVD player yet so can't judge - see Prog scan shootout posts for further opinions.


    Mind you. I'm wondering about this:


    http://www.pcconnection.com/scripts/productdetail.asp?product_id=267253


    This is the ViewSonic VB50 - looks identical to ProV (Mine is called XGA Theater - from Scancom, UK arm of Avtoolbox), but if you read the specs, it'll do 850*480 @ 60Hz - thats not miles away from AE100 native resolution. ( I see 848*480 from my laptop as Wide480 on the AE100, and its absolutely brilliant). The Viewsonic is probably hidebound by NTSC standards - it says nothing about Pal.

    Now, has anyone out there got one of these ?

    I wonder is it possible to tweak the ProV to give 852*480 - Remote hack, internal fix ?

    **Edited to correct my woeful typing ! **

    Sean G.
     
  5. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using a Pro-V with my AE100 for the last week.

    Found 3 bad points:-

    Vertical banding artifacts on my AE100.

    Lots of artifacts during fast moving images.
    eg. in a football match, the crowd in the background of a player close-up breaks up.

    Loss of 'Just' mode. In VGA mode, I can only choose 4:3 or 16:9. Losing 'Just' mode which filled out the 16:9 panel using a 4:3 source giving a natural looking picture.

    Good point:-

    Cleaned up a composite picture for my folks DVD player.
     
  6. Walter mitty

    Walter mitty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use Pro v and can`t fault it....I don`t get any of the problems mentioned above or indeed any others. I never have used just mode so that doesnt bother me. I have heard of sync probs but I get no probs whatsoever???? i think it`s well worth the money.
     
  7. azzo

    azzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Be very careful as I have bought one and can honestly say
    it is only marginally better that a component feed into the panny
    (If that)
    Problems I have found are:
    1) Picture break up with white flashes. (Basically a lot of PS2 games and flash photography on films)
    2) IT IS NO GOOD IF YOUR DVD HAS NOT BEEN MACROVISION DISABLED!!!!
    3) I cannot get the colours to look as good as the native source.
    ie. S-video or Component colours seem more real.
    Good points are:
    Very nice stable cinematic picture.
    And thats about it.
    Hope its been of some help.

    Azzo
     
  8. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Azzo,

    ProV problems unless your DVD is Macrovision disabled ???


    I'm passing a laptop thru the VGA connections so its not an issue, but out of curiosity I played a dvd on my PS2 which is connected via Svideo. It played no problem - blooming good quality too - not in the HCPC stakes, but you'd need to be watching very carefully for jaggies etc to find them and the colour detail is better with HCPC.

    The PS2 is bog standard - no mods of any kind. Does this mean that

    A; PS2 via Svideo bypasses macrovision, or

    B; the problem is not with DVD/Macrovision at all - a cabling issue or RF interference perhaps ????





    Sean G.
     
  9. powlest

    powlest
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for the advice, some good stuff there :) I think I may have to give it a go.
     
  10. azzo

    azzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    The macrovision problem is not apparant on all macrovision discs. I guess there must be different kinds of macrovision.
    For example, I get this problem on MonsterInc R2 and Pleasantville R1 but not Oceans 11 R2 or Star Trek Res R1!
    Who knows, could someone post me there colour/contrast etc
    settings for their prov and panny so I can at least attempt to get something looking real and not artificial?
     
  11. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,482
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,965
    A question for you Pro V owners:

    Can you move a letterbox image (anamorphic or otherwise) up and down in the 4:3 area?

    My pj sit's higher than center to the screen, so I use Zoom players image manipulation to fit it to the screen (and occasionaly YXY) via my htpc.

    If the Pro V can do this, I might get one 'just to see'. :)

    Cheers,

    Gary.
     
  12. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi Gary,

    Nope I'm afraid mine can't manipulate the image like that. If you just wanted it for TV or PS2/whatever, its still a good buy imho - you could pass thru your hcpc signal via the VGA In/Out.

    Sean G.
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    I still can't believe the image quality I'm getting from a keene synchblaster cable. Won't work with the panny though, shame.
     
  14. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried LOTR - Extended on my old Samsung cheapo DVD player as the disc were incompatible with the DVD-ROM drive in my PC. My Sony 735 player is faulty.

    I couldn't believe how bad S-Video looked so I tried the Pro-V again. It looked superb compared to S-Video but not quite PC quality.

    The artefacts that I got from my Sony DVD player through the Pro-V were gone when using the Samsung.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice