1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ProSieben HD

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Muf, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
  2. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    ProSieben HD is on air now simulcasting their SD channel in pillar box format. Looks like only one audio pid, ac3.

    Jim
     
  3. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    I'll be tuning in tomorrow :) thanks for the heads-up ;)
     
  4. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    cant get sund on the HD channel :( In info it shows as HD on STB, SWD channel has German audio
    Wonder if different when Spidey shows tomorrow. Also interesting to see SuperVolcano showing, that is on BBC3 this weekend
     
  5. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Steve, There is only ac3 audio and it is working at the moment.

    Jim
     
  6. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    thanks mate I'll have a look this afternon. Do you know a start time for Spiderman today?
     
  7. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    had a look on homecinema.fr and looks like 20:15 start (I assume that's CET)
     
  8. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Chaps

    Would you say my 90cm motorised dish isn't up to the job as I can't seem to tune into Proseiben HD? I can pick up the Euro1080 and Astra HD broadcasts. Is there a minimum size dish requirement that you're aware of?

    Clint.
     
  9. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes 19:15 GMT

    Jim.
     
  10. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    I'd have thought 90cm was plenty big enough.
    what program are you using,
    Have you rescanned?
     
  11. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've been using My Theatre but due to it interfering with my ability to adjust overlay settings when using PowerDVD I've removed it. I'll probably try next with ProgDVB. However when I did have it installed I put all the correct entries in to scan the transponder but still it didn't pick it up.

    Clint.
     
  12. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    I use ProgDVB and MyTheatre and they both tune it in but when I tried to find it a week or so ago it wasn't there.
    So I guess you tried to find it when it wasn't transmitting.
    So install ProgDVB and rescan.
    Hopefully it'll all be good.
     
  13. akan7

    akan7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +67
    just watchin Spiderman now with ProgDVB

    Info

    1920 x 1080
    bit rate 2245520 bytes/s

    already got it on HD
     
  14. Abstrakt

    Abstrakt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +40
    The good:
    - Constant bitrate of 18 Mbps.
    - The OAR of 1.85:1 has been preserved, instead of cropping it to 1.78:1.

    The bad:
    - German dubbed audio only.
    - 25 FPS.
    - Network bug in the upper right corner of the screen.

    The ugly:
    - Commercial breaks.
    - No end credits. Ends abruptly by cutting to a beer commercial, without so much as a fade out.

    Cheers.
     
  15. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Surely 25fps via 50i is better than 24fps via 60i with 3:2?
     
  16. Abstrakt

    Abstrakt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +40
    Why? 3-2 pulldown works beautifully. I must’ve watched hundreds of high def 1080i/60 movies and cannot complain. On the other hand, speeding up films to 25 FPS has always been a bad idea, IMHO. But then again I’m a film purist. ;) This same argument applies to DVDs, of course… HDTV doesn’t change anything in this respect.
     
  17. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    I still cant get audio through my STB :( not that it matters lol
     
  18. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers for that Baggy, I'll try to re-tune again.

    Clint.
     
  19. Rimmer

    Rimmer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doesn't it depend on the display? For example, 3:2 pulldown on a progressive display looks considerably better than 3:2 pulldown on an interlaced display because you are seeing 60 full frames, unlike on interlaced where 40% of the video 'frames' are made up from different film frames.

    I only really find PAL's 4% speed-up (interlaced or progressive) acceptable when the audio is pitch-corrected, as otherwise I feel I am not hearing the original soundtrack.
     
  20. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    I don't find it beautiful at all - the judder caused by weighting the motion of one field more than another (when they should be balanced) always makes 60i 3:2 pulldown look pretty "un real" to me. 2:2 50i always looks much smoother and cleaner to me. I'm a visual purist - 3:2 pulldown just looks like what it is, an ugly kludge. Smooth pans aren't, fast moving objects don't look at all nice etc.

    I can easily tell the difference - and would always chose 2:2 via 50i.

    Of course if you remove the 3:2 pull-down cadence and display at 72fps or 48fps then things improve.

    Even when you convert a 60i 3:2 to a 60p 3:2, and get rid of the mixed field/frames, you still have the unreal motion rendition.

    I agree the speed up is a price to pay - but for me TV / Film is a visual medium, and I like to see it as cleanly as possible.
     
  21. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Yep - though 60p is still suffering from the jerky cadence of 3:2 pull-down. Sure there are no mixed fields, but one film frame is still displayed for 50% longer than the other, meaning smooth motion becomes "jerky" or "juddery". I find it pretty objectionable.

    I agree that speed-up without pitch correction is the worst case for 2:2 50i?
     
  22. Rimmer

    Rimmer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes - I have no problem at all with 2:2 pulldown where the sound is pitch-corrected. The difference between 24 and 25fps is then so subtle that I think it's nit-picking to complain about it. Unfortunately pitch-correction is still not standard practice, although many new films have corrected sound. I'm not aware of a single US TV show where the sound has been pitch-corrected. If watch a TV show in NTSC and then in PAL the difference in the audio pitch is very annoying!
     

Share This Page

Loading...