1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Proposed HCPC and some queries.

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Andy.T, Jun 4, 2002.

1. Andy.T

Andy.T

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +73
    Hi guys,

Pull up a chair and coffee this could be long. Back? Ok here goes. :D

I am totally new to this but have started by reading the articles here and on AVS, I still have a bunch of questions though.

I'm looking at building a HCPC to drive my Panasonic AE100 (which I have yet to buy, but it will be mine... oh yes... it will be mine). :devil:

Seriously though, I'll be buying an AE100 in a couple of months and I want the HCPC to drive DVDs on my Sony KP41DS1 until then. I'd like it to act as a juke-box using EAC and Monkey Lossless and eventually to act as a PVR using Showshifter or something. I'd also like to be able to play some games on it on the big screen, though it won't be my main PC.

Audio fidelity is really important to me and I want the best picture for now on the TV and for later on the AE100. Bearing that in mind, how does the following seem as a starter?

Case - Anything pretty
    PSU - Enermax Powersupply ATX 350W (P-4) Whisper Series for P4/AMD (EG365P-VE)
    CPU - AMD Athlon XP 1800
    Mobo - Abit NV7-133-R RAID nForce 415
    Ram - 256mb
    DVD Drive - Toshiba SD-M1612
    Video Card - I can't find anywhere selling the ATI 7200 But would like fanless. Any suggestions?
    Sound Card - Creative Labs Audigy or if I can stretch to it M-Audio 2496
    Hard Drives - Maxtor 80gb ATA133 7200rpm (1 initially then more later)
    TV Card - ATI TV-Wonder or Haupage Win TV
    Combined Wire-free Keyboard/mouse - Any suggestions?
    Wire-free Joystick - Any suggestions?
    OS - XP or ME

Questions

a) How much of a problem is the lack of Dscaler support for the ATI All in One TV Wonder?