1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Proper screen - what's it like.. will know soon..

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Dodgey, Dec 6, 2002.

  1. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just taken delivery of a proper fixed projection screen (thanks Gordon) which I'm going to install this weekend. Up until now I've been using a stretched king size bed sheet with no borders etc. (using PTAE-100)

    Watch this space.......
     
  2. vee_cee

    vee_cee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dodgey

    I'm thinking of getting the PT AE-100 as my first projector, Techtronics have them for £1054 with a free 55inch 16:9 ratio screen.

    Whats the image quality like?
    Is screendoor a problem?
    Whats the distance from pj to screen for your setup?
    Whats the viewing distance for your setup?
    Whats the size of your screen?
    What signal input are you using?

    Would greatly appreciate your comments

    Everyone, does a PJ setup pass with wife approval ?

    regards
    VC
     
  3. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Vee_cee I was looking at that offer earlier too, looked really good - until I realised it was all excluding VAT!!
     
  4. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,825
    guys look in the special offers forum, a PTAE-100 can be had for 995 inc VAT.

    btw, do a search on the PTAE-100...you'll find all you need to know, plus alot more:D
     
  5. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Vee-Cee,

    Smurfin is referring to this:

    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?action=info&AvdID=1&CatID=29&GrpID=1&p=20225&s=fp

    As for your other queries,

    Whats the image quality like?

    Brilliant - as with all LCD projectors, the blacks are never really black, but the colours are vibrant, its plenty bright enough running in eco mode which reduces the noise and gives a 5000 hr bulb life


    Is screendoor a problem?

    That really depends on whether you fing it objectionable in the first place - imo too much is made of this issue, particularly by our American cousins, but that probably stems from their long relationship with CRT projectors for home cinema. If you like an ultra sharp picture, and you can sit more than 2x screen width away from screen then it shouldn't be an issue. I you de-focus the image very slightly, then the image becomes more filmic, and screendoor can be made to practically disappear. I prefer a very slight de-focus, my wife like the picture ultra sharp.



    Whats the distance from pj to screen for your setup?

    About 11 feet.


    Whats the viewing distance for your setup?

    about 13 feet

    Whats the size of your screen?

    16 x 9format, 84" wide.


    What signal input are you using?

    I'm using a gizmo called a ProV - see here

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=55466

    for further details. Some lucky souls have Pal progressive dvd players, others absolutely swear by dedicated hcpcs. Imo, hcpc is the route to getting the very best picture quality from the AE100, the Prov comes fairly close.


    Hope this helps - but some time spent searching here on the forum should inform you more. Incidentally, there is absolutely no substitute for seeing one of these in action, provided its in a reasonbly well set up dealers. You shoould also try seeing the new Sanyo PLV Z1 at about £1300, if your budget can manage - its new to market and is getting very good review by users here and on avsforum (USA). Depending on where you live, you could ask on the forum for any AE100 owner living near you to give you a demo.....

    For me, all the descriptions in the world had nothing like the impact of seeing it in action first time out, and I've now got it set up a lot better than that, thru tweaking and ProV etc.


    Good luck,


    Sean G.
     
  6. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    Awesome
    No
    4.06M/13' 4"
    3.9M/12' 10"
    2.4 x 1.8M (4:3)
    VGA from ProV
    Yes:p
     
  7. vee_cee

    vee_cee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Dvd player i'm looking at getting is the Denon 2800MKII

    This has component output from what i remember, my question is

    Will i still need a ProV box, if a use component out?

    What distances can you run component without losses?

    Cheers
    VC
     
  8. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK The screen is up!!! - and boy is it huge. Firstly, to answer the question posed...

    Whats the image quality like?

    Superb - If you have never seen a big screen LCD in action in the dark you will be in for a big shock! People talk about screen door, but to be honest, it just is not an issue to me - it's so big you just enjoy it. And the price, what else comes close (ans don't think you get what you pay for - this is a lot more than you pay for in my opinion)

    Is screendoor a problem?

    Nope - Do you want to spend at least 4k for a widescreen dlp PJ which has other issues (rainbow) - particularly when most screen door queries are from people who don't have an LCD pj - most people who do have one don't complain - have a search.

    Whats the distance from pj to screen for your setup?

    4.4M

    Whats the viewing distance for your setup?

    4M (too close, not a real problem, but the picture looks more filmic a couple of metres further back)

    Whats the size of your screen?

    274 x 154 ( :D hehe)

    What signal input are you using?

    HTPC 856x480

    Would greatly appreciate your comments

    Above!

    Everyone, does a PJ setup pass with wife approval ?

    My house, but she loves it.

    Now, onto the screen - going from a bedsheet to a propper job....

    Wow! lots of things:

    I can watch films in the day, with the lights on dim (not a chance before)
    Much brighter image
    Limitations of the LCD are revealed a bit due to the much improved screen material - NOTE: This is only because I'm sitting too close - You can just detect the pixels "swimming"- and no, I can't move my sofa! - Also note, only tested in the light, with Band of Brothers, which is meant to be grainy so is not a good test...
    Black borders round the picture (the frame) makes it look like a giant plasma display - more on that tomorrow when I've watched a film or 6 tonight... will update in the morning.

    Bye!
     
  9. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, if you want to make Sky watchable.
    No, if you are only watching DVDs.

    How long is your cable? I have a 10M VGA cable that works fine and the same in S-vhs.
     
  10. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    And here it is :) - Thanks Gordon

    p.s. No, I have not entirely worked out what to do with it when I want to watch normal TV, or open the windows :) - Well, that's a lie, I think it will go on the wall to the right when not in use. Two man job though (well, 1 man 1 woman)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I've been playing for a bit and I thought I'd include an image showing screen-door. It's a real close up shot. I though of including a shot from my viewing distance but I can't post a high enough resolution image here for you to examine - would be of zero use, but the point is, you (or at least I) can't see it from a few meters away, at all.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hey Dodgey,

    THATS a screen :D :D

    Can see why you're so happy....



    All the best,


    Sean G.edit: my wife just looked over my shoulder and said "is that one bigger than yours ? Size matters so, does it ?":blush: ;) :D
     
  13. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
  14. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks TheRitz, hope I haven't caused screen envy.

    Thanks Gordon.

    Now, you are not going to believe this......

    My Panny just died!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:

    170 hours of use, just bought a new bunch of DVDs to run on the new screen..... Switched the PJ on and it bade a bit of a buzzing noise and went into standby. Switched it back on. Played a bit, sitched it off.

    Then, switched it back on and it died in a milisecond. Now power light or anything :mad:

    I've checked the power (got meter), opened her up and checked the two internal fuses I found by the power connector. All checks out OK. She is just DEAD!!!!

    I want to kill Panasonic!!! They should have done a bl@ody recall by now.

    I notice there is no "crying" smily simbol. There should be!

    What do you reckon is the chance of getting it back before xmas? zero.........

    boo hoo
     
  15. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    OMG - talk about bad news just before Xmas....:mad:

    Checks meter - 266 hours...:D
     
  16. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hey Dodgey,

    **** !!!:eek: :eek:

    Man I really feel you pain - where did you buy it ? does the dealer have a reputation here for sorting it out ?


    Thats Me, McMullanbrush, and now you !!

    Mine had about 320 hrs up (Mike, keep you fingers crossed) but it didn't die completely - it would come on for about 10 secs, and then go out with the lamp LED flashing red, high fan and then shut down - the dealers say a replacement lampo will sort it out - my fingers are well and truly crossed.

    I hope you can get this sorted out - if they can't guarantee to get it back to you swiftly - see Mcmullanbrush's post here

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=56729

    I've posted details of Panasonics guarantee which iuncludes a replacement pj while yours is being fixed. If my guys don't get me back in action by next Wednesday, then I'm on to Panasonic to kick up some stink.

    Let us know how you get on - I think its time to re-instate the AE100 problem Stickey.

    Commiserations again.


    Sean G.
     
  17. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Theritz. Fortunately I have 2 bottles of red, a bottle of champagne, and a wonderful woman to keep me happy.

    I agree about the sticky thread. I always thought that it was someone elses problem / bad luck. At present, I have to say to others - think carefully about buying the Panny.... it's still great value but if I can't get an assurance that they replace the faulty components with improved ones (rather than same) then I'm going for a refund otherwise the begger will die 2 days out of warranty!

    I got the PJ through a computer supplier I use - but I'll call Panny directly and do it myself.

    **** happens - but on the day I get my screen erected, after waiting 4 months for it (not Gordon's fault - I wasted my time with another pillock before hand) - That's just not fair
    :(

    p.s. Thanks for the screen Gordon, I can recommend it to anyone else. Very well made (quality), easy to assemble (if you engage brain first!), nice tight material - no ripples etc and not too heavy. Oh, and the matt surround is 100% effective.
     
  18. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phoned the Panny service center this morning, they are collecting it this afternoon and they have the parts in stock (assuming it is indeed the PSU problem - which it looks like).

    Lets hope all goes to plan.

    The guy (Nick) needed no prompting to collect it direct, today. He did ask which supplier I used but it was not an issue.

    I also asked whether the replacement PSU would be an "upgraded" component - he confirmed this.
     
  19. rooster

    rooster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    Dodgey .If you dont mind me asking , How much was the screen and what size is it.
     
  20. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Panny has been collected already!!!

    As for the screen - it is (viewable area) 274 x 156 (I think - using memory) - it cost about £750 ish, can't be more specific as I got someone else to pay for it for me :) . Have a chat with Gordon at Convergent, he's a good chap and the quality of the screen is tip-top.

    I bought a fixed screen because i will make 2 masking panels for it for "very" widescreen movies. Tricky to do with a pulldown screen.
     
  21. Dodgey

    Dodgey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    TheRitz, got the PJ back today! Not bad - called Panny on Monday, mended and in my lap by Thursday!
     
  22. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    PHEW

    Close call but well done to the service ctr.

    I have just read this thread from start to finish and my heart sank when you posted about the failure.

    Alls well that ends well :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...