1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pronto Screen needs repaired...help!!?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by scottishmovies, Feb 24, 2005.

  1. scottishmovies

    scottishmovies
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I recently dropped my pronto and it's slightly damaged. LCD seems ok but the plastic (or whatever it's made of) screen has a dent in it and if any of the buttons are placed in that area then they get "pressed" all the time. I know I could redesign the layout so that the buttons are clear of the area but it's in quite a middle of the screen spot and it's annoying!

    Does anyone knwo where I can either get it repaired or get a replacement screen for it?

    Thanks in advance

    Pat
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,516
    You can get a replacement screen direct from Philips.
     
  3. FaB*Bo*Peep

    FaB*Bo*Peep
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure which Pronto you have but you might want to check out item 3877137616 on ebay. If that is the same model as yours it is going very cheap as it has an intermitant power off fault but the screen is probably ok. Only 14 hours to go though so you had better look quick ;)
     
  4. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,927
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,615
    Any idea as to the cost ? I have sent them an email ,but thought I'd ask the question anyway
    JS
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,516
    Sorry i don't.
     
  6. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,927
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,615
    Thanks anyway . New I'd get a reply from here sooner than from Philips :D

    John
     
  7. scottishmovies

    scottishmovies
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had the same problem then. Missed out on one on ebay as the seller obviously got a good offer for it before the auction closed. But it seems that ebay might be the best source for looking for one.
     
  8. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,927
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,615
    I'm gonna fire an email off to earthLCD in the morning , they seem to be the outfit mentioned on the forums @ Remote Central for the last 2 years . Will post back result .
    Can't believe the price of a new B&W pronto . If anything , they are more expensive now than when I bought mine
    JS
     
  9. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,927
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,615
    Well , got a Email back from Philips today

    170 Euros :eek: Who are they trying to kid

    JS
     
  10. D J Fryer

    D J Fryer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +9
    John - exactly my experience of Philips recently - 'take it back to your dealer'. Pretty poor support in my opinion, can perhaps understand that if the Pronto is in warranty but if its just a straight 'to be paid for' part or repair then it seems ludicrous that you have to go through a middle man. I am looking for a new docking station and it's a nightmare trying to find one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...