Pronto RU 890 and 940 Differences?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Shoka, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +238
    I had a Marantz RC5000i which I belive is the same as the RU940, when this died I got a kameleon which i hated, and I'm now in the process of buying a pronto RU890, just wondering what the differences are between it and the 940 any one know?

    Does anyone know the key differences between the 2? They look identical, is it just less memory?
     
  2. Dave964

    Dave964
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +260
    Looks like it. Remote central says of the RU940 :

    "The European Philips Pronto RU940 is an enhancement of the RU890 with 2 megabytes of user memory"
     
  3. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +238
    Cheers, i looked at RC and couldn't find the answer, don't suppose you noticed what memory the RU890 had did you?
     
  4. Dave964

    Dave964
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +260
    Doesn't mention it on the page I was looking at.
     
  5. JurgenNL

    JurgenNL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Some time ago I gathered this information:

    The original Pronto = 8 hard buttons
    RU890 = TS1000 US 1 Mb = Marantz RC5000
    RU940 = TSU2000 2 Mb, db = Marantz RC5200

    RU970 = TSU6000 8 Mb, 256-color, high-res. touch-screen [3]

    Pronto NG = 20 hard buttons
    RU950 = TSU3000 4 Mb, [4]
    = TSU 3500 upgrade; better screen, buttons, faster USB, better IR learning, updated software, inclusive rechar.batt. + dock. station NIEUW

    RU970 = TSU 6000 8 Mb, color, IR/FR cap.
    RU980 = TSU7000 = 32 Mb, TFT, ProntoProEdit NG softw., IR/FR cap. [5]
    = Marantz RC9500
    = TSU 7500 48 Mb, better: design, buttons, IR learning NIEUW
     
  6. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +238
    Excellent thanks, that answered all my questions :smashin:
     
  7. Jamie

    Jamie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,288
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +1,368
    Sorry probably not relevant but a bit of a correction

    RU940 is equivalent to the RC5000i

    The RC5200 doesn't have a pronto equivalent, it was kind of halfway between the classic prontos and the Next generation one. based on the old pronto hardware (4 grey scales, Serial connection, old gen software etc) but with added RF and a design more like the newer NG remotes that replaced them all.
    (navigation joystick thingy and extra hard buttons)

    I've programmed a couple of older remotes (a 1M RC5000 and a 2M RU940) and can honestly say I didn't need to use the extra space so in most circumstances the 890 should be fine.

    If you can afford it though I'd move on a generation and get a NG remote. The screen is 16 shades which is a huge difference and the menu pad is sorely missed on the older remotes
     
  8. Dave964

    Dave964
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +260
    Agreed. I'm using an old pronto for the tv / sky+ in the bedroom. It works very well but every time I have to use a menu pad, I look down at the remote to find the hard keys, realise they're not there and swear.
     
  9. JurgenNL

    JurgenNL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks for the correction: RU940 is equivalent to the RC5000i.

    (Actually I have the RC5000i, using it for my sleeping room AV and the other one I have, the RU990 I'm using for the sitting room AV.)

    And I agree with the rest you said.
     

Share This Page

Loading...