1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pronto Rechargables

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Plump, Jul 21, 2002.

  1. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI,
    is it safe to stick four 1.2V NiMh rechargeables (instead of original rechargeable pack) into the Pronto and Charge it in the Docking station.
    Cheers
    Plump
     
  2. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +313
    errr why??
     
  3. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because I had bad luck and got one that can't be charged well. I tried another one from a good friend of mine and it works well. So simply it was bad luck.
    Now I have choice to order another battery pack or simply to buy 4 appropriate rechargeables.

    This was my full answer to your stupid question.

    Cheers
    Plump
     
  4. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +313
    You did not say why in your first post so how does that make my question stupid????
     
  5. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    no offense
    I wrote that because when we ask the question here, we ask it because of question itself, and not to tell someone whole background story - needs much more typing and time is what I do not have :-(
    so please no offense
    I still need to know if anyone experienced anything bad by chargingl NiMhs inside Pronto.
     
  6. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +98
    If you check your pronto handbook, on page 4..

    Warning Use the recharging dock only with the Philips NiMH rechargeable battery pack.

    Now I know your gonna say "Yeh, but who listens to the instructions anyway", but for about £10 you can get yourself an independent battery charger & save yourself the worry...

    My 2penceworth...
    :p
     
  7. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes of course, but I see no reason not to use them. After all I still have that docking station! And this battery pack is nothing but 4 AA size rechargeables wrapped together in a pack! I wanted to share experiences but seems no one did this. I will do it anyway. And nothing can go wrong!
    Cheeers
    Plump

    P.S LDR thanks for your effort anyway
     
  8. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    4x NiMh 1,2V , 1200mAh inserted and charged
    All fine
    Either lucky or it really works :)
    Cheers all
    Plump
     

Share This Page

Loading...