Pronto Rechargables

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Plump, Jul 21, 2002.

  1. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI,
    is it safe to stick four 1.2V NiMh rechargeables (instead of original rechargeable pack) into the Pronto and Charge it in the Docking station.
    Cheers
    Plump
     
  2. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    errr why??
     
  3. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because I had bad luck and got one that can't be charged well. I tried another one from a good friend of mine and it works well. So simply it was bad luck.
    Now I have choice to order another battery pack or simply to buy 4 appropriate rechargeables.

    This was my full answer to your stupid question.

    Cheers
    Plump
     
  4. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    You did not say why in your first post so how does that make my question stupid????
     
  5. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    no offense
    I wrote that because when we ask the question here, we ask it because of question itself, and not to tell someone whole background story - needs much more typing and time is what I do not have :-(
    so please no offense
    I still need to know if anyone experienced anything bad by chargingl NiMhs inside Pronto.
     
  6. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +101
    If you check your pronto handbook, on page 4..

    Warning Use the recharging dock only with the Philips NiMH rechargeable battery pack.

    Now I know your gonna say "Yeh, but who listens to the instructions anyway", but for about £10 you can get yourself an independent battery charger & save yourself the worry...

    My 2penceworth...
    :p
     
  7. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes of course, but I see no reason not to use them. After all I still have that docking station! And this battery pack is nothing but 4 AA size rechargeables wrapped together in a pack! I wanted to share experiences but seems no one did this. I will do it anyway. And nothing can go wrong!
    Cheeers
    Plump

    P.S LDR thanks for your effort anyway
     
  8. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    4x NiMh 1,2V , 1200mAh inserted and charged
    All fine
    Either lucky or it really works :)
    Cheers all
    Plump
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice