1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pronto Neo

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by gavan, Feb 14, 2003.

  1. gavan

    gavan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    3,984
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +286
    Anyone here using the Pronto Neo? I've been thinking of getting a Universal Remote for some time and this seems to fit the bill... I don't need the all-singing all-dancing functionality of something like the Pro but I'd like something more than a basic universal remote.

    So - any experiences and recommendations?

    Gav
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Do you want the hard buttons that you get with the neo or will a standard Pronto be ok?
    A standard Pronto can be bought for £99 from Richer Sounds but a Neo is around £180, that is a lot of extra money for a couple of hard buttons!
    The screen on the Neo is quiet small and low resolution compared to the Pronto.

    Mark.
     
  3. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Also bear in mind that the Neo seems to have acquired a less than stellar reputation for its IR learning abilities. :(

    I would save your money and get the Pronto.
     
  4. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    I had to take my Pronto Neo back, as it couldn't learn just about anything! The Neo wouldn't learn: Sky Digibox (grundig), Harman/Kardon amp, Panasonic VCR, Some of my (then) Sony 7700, PC Speakers, Thule CD Player. Admittedly some of these components aren't exactly popular, but my Marantz RC1200 can learn them fine, and that cost just £30!

    Oh, and yes, I tried everything to get those codes learnt. Better off with a real pronto, or RC1200.

    What are those Kameleon (spelling) remotes like?

    Russell
     
  5. Tides2002

    Tides2002
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I’ve just upgraded the firmware of my Neo (to V1.5.3). The update is supposed to improve the learning capabilities of the Neo; indeed it seems a little better but still doesn’t give you confidence that the learning process will be successful. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...