1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pronto at Richer Sounds

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by bobbles, Feb 1, 2003.

  1. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally thought what the hell and decided to treat myself to the pronto for 99.99 with the ad in what video widescreen

    Went in to richer sounds mag in hand

    none in stock

    They said they were getting more in on the 6th

    Looked on ad offer expires on the 5th

    What a coincidence

    :mad:
     
  2. Mundos

    Mundos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try giving them a call without mentioning the ad and see if the stock miraculously materialises. ;)

    If this fails then the ad in the February copy of What Hi-Fi doesn't expire until the 14th and that has the Pronto for £99 also.
     
  3. jblandford

    jblandford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Phone - ask if they have any in stock.

    Call in and talk to them,asking about remotes and mention that you are looking at the pronto. Get them to let you look at it on the counter...making sure it is one from stock.

    Finally, when you say i will take it and they put it in front of you and are about to ring it up on the till.......you pounce with the mag. Advise a large coat and concealed pockets!!!!!

    THEN THEY CANT WRIGGLE OUT

    Worked for me...I REALLY wanted one...and i was going to get it!

    Plan well and it shall be yours

    JB:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
     
  4. mandlebrot

    mandlebrot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got to agree with jblandford here but left my mag in the car and just qouted the price and what mag it was in.

    It wasn't for a pronto in my case it was for some speakers, first I asked on the phone but mentioned the mag and was told none in stock, went down with a mate anyway has he was getting other stuff. I decided to ask in the shop without mentioning the mag and hey presto, it was yes sir no problem sir, that will be £250 please, I don't think so I said it is advertised has £xx in the mag. He said something about checking if he could sell at that price with manager and then came back saying the price in mag was a cockup but manager would honour it.
     
  5. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    finally got one from the hole that is coventry, it was the last one in the midlands tried 4 stores

    the dirtect line and internet is 149.99

    they didn't even ask to see mag just quoted price from it

    more than happy to sell it to me at that price
     
  6. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is this the Pronto you guys are talking about or the Pronto Neo?

    Tim:)
     
  7. mandlebrot

    mandlebrot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    We are taking about the 2MB standard Pronto not the Neo.
     
  8. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    I might nip out and get a load of that the before the 14th.

    I've owned the Neo (for a short) while but was not happy with it.

    99.9% of the posts relating to the Pronto say it's the best thing since sliced bread.

    Tim:)
     
  9. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i took it back

    I like to have all the buttons at hand more easily

    the pronto edit software was not the easiest to get used to either

    Prob great if you have lots of equipment but for me it was way OTT

    I've not got the time to spend days messing about setting it up


    the £99 offer expires very soon I think
     
  10. Ricky27

    Ricky27
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +186
    I must say it's a great piece of kit,well worth the £99.

    Went into my local RS today and asked what decent remotes they had in and could i see a few,they said that they may have some prontos in,came back with one and i asked if i could have it for the offer price,didnt even get asked for a what hi-fi.:)

    Took me a few hours to get to grips with it ,but well worth it,its so flexible.
     
  11. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Anybody purchased one of these recently from around the midlands area?

    Bobbles - you got yours from Coventry didn't you?

    I'll make some calls tomorrow.

    Tim
     
  12. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Birmingham definitely have one, mine.

    ;)

    I think they had taken pre orders

    I must have been mad taking it back, I should have put it on Ebay
     
  13. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just picked up a couple of these puppies from RS in Reading. One for me and one for my dad.

    £99 of course.

    Tim:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  14. Dr.Scanlan

    Dr.Scanlan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guyz,

    I went to my local Richer Sounds 2day, to try and pick up a pronto.They had none left, but said all stores are obligated to sell the Pronto Neo for 99 quid also, if the Pronto is out of stock...didnt know what to do...Neo looks cool too...anyone know pros and cons against standard Pronto?

    Ta.. :smashin:
     
  15. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    aparantly the Neo is pants in comparison
     
  16. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Apparently the IR learning for the Neo is very shabby in comparison with the Pronto.

    Also the confguration files are not directly compatible and I'm not sure if there's an easy way to convert IR codes from the format used in Pronto CCF files to whatever is used in the Neo.

    Personally I would stick with the Pronto, that's what I intend to buy anyway. :smashin:
     
  17. Dr.Scanlan

    Dr.Scanlan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey,

    Just got my Pronto 2day...havent had a chance to play with it yet...got it posted from the Dublin store for 149 Euros, worked out at about 98 quid...they have a pile left and are quite helpful, if anyone else is having trouble finding one in their local branch...

    Have fun peeps!! :rotfl:
     
  18. PeterW

    PeterW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  19. yonderblue

    yonderblue
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +12
    Philips Pronto :smashin:
    Philips Neo :thumbsdow

    I was after a second Pronto and I got one last Thursday after having to order one at R.S., Anyway I took the advert from last months(Feb) What Video Widescreen Entertainment and R.S matched the price no problem.

    On the way home from R.S. I bought the latest (March) issue of What Video Widescreen Entertainment magazine and that issue also has the £99 offer on the Philips Pronto (2MB) and the small print on the advert states that R.S. offers in the March Issue of What Video Widescreen Entertainment runs until March 10th so the offer for the £99 Prontos is still on.

    I was comparing my original Pronto with this new one and I noticed that my first Pronto that I got early last year from Letsautomate.com was made in Belgium but the newest one I got from R.S. was made in Indonesia and the case has a very slight rougher feel than the Belgium made one, Very strange.

    Scott
     
  20. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,026
    All I want is a pronto with more hard buttons. Bit like the new Marantz. But thats too expensive.

    I'm almost toying with the idea of an attachment of sorts that presses the touch screen, like the clip on joysticks you can get for mobile phones.

    As it is I'm lumbered with the TiVo remote as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...