1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pronto 940 USB Serial Converter!!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by MarkR, Nov 26, 2003.

  1. MarkR

    MarkR
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kent
    Ratings:
    +291
    Dont know if any Pronto owners are interested but just in case....
    After buying a new laptop I discovered that it did not have serial port, which of course makes your Pronto redundant in respects to uploading and downloading CCFs. A while ago I seeked advice to whether a USB serial converter would work, some people said yes and some said no. So for reference it does work to my huge relief.:)
     
  2. Zapp.Brannigan

    Zapp.Brannigan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manston, Ramsgate
    Ratings:
    +3
    COOL!:D :D
     
  3. Boink!

    Boink!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Messages:
    598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    How much are these converter connectors and where can you get them from?
     
  4. MarkR

    MarkR
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kent
    Ratings:
    +291
    Hi Boink, I bought the converter from Ebuyer, think it was around the £12 mark.:)
     
  5. Dan666

    Dan666
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  6. MarkR

    MarkR
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kent
    Ratings:
    +291
    That looks identical to the one I have. I take it you are in a similar situation??
     
  7. Dan666

    Dan666
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sort of - I use my PC to configure the Pronto. The box sits under the desk so the serial ports are a bit awkward to get to.

    There are USB ports on the front of the case so I'd like to utilise one of these instead.
     

Share This Page

Loading...