1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Prologic Etc.

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by RichardG6PAJ, Apr 12, 2005.

1. RichardG6PAJ

RichardG6PAJ

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I'm new to all this, so I'm hoping you can give some sound advice. (pardon the pun).
    I am assembling a cheap surround sound system, Consisting of a Panasonic DMR-E55EB DVD recorder, a Packard Bell Digital Digital Theatre Processor fed into a Phillips A3.610 5.1 Channel Speaker System. My problem is with the PB Sound Processor. As yet I have no instructions with the unit and can not find any info on the net. The dvd unit is connected to the processor via an optical cable and the processor is connected to the speakers/amplifier via six phono plug terminating to a mini din plug. Using the test button on the processor I get white noise through all 5 speakers. So everything appears to be connected ok. The sub woofer is also working. When I play a dvd (recorded from tv) the processor switches to pro logic, but sound only comes from the centre speaker. The only way I can get sound to come from all speakers is to switch the processor to what it calls BYPASS mode. The sound quality is excellent. But not sure why when in the prologic mode I only get sound from one speaker. When sound comes directly to the unit from a broadcast (BBC, ITV etc) I again get sound from all speakers, but the processor does not switch to prologic mode, I can however scroll through some of the processors DSP modes ( cinema, theatre, live, matrix etc.).
    If you have any constructive comments I would appreciate it.
    Thanks
    RichardG

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,380